Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] May have bricked my N7 (deb)

OP jahames

13th February 2014, 09:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
So, first, the moral of this story is don't do stuff like this at 2AM after a long day at work.

Tonight, I decided to root my N7 and mess around with a few different roms. Well, apparently I didn't read pages carefully enough because I am now the proud owner of a deb tablet with a flo bootloader on it. My fastboot screen reads:
PRODUCT NAME - deb
VARIANT - deb 32G
...
BOOTLOADER VERSION - FLO-04.02
BASEBAND VERSION - DEB-GOO_2.37.0_1024

I realized this when trying to install CM11, and got errors saying the package was for deb but device is flo.

I've tried to flash factory, but it still leaves me with the incorrect bootloader. FWIW, I'm doing this on a Mac, and won't have access to a PC for at least a few days. Any help would be really appreciated
13th February 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #2  
StuMcBill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
1,735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahames

So, first, the moral of this story is don't do stuff like this at 2AM after a long day at work.

Tonight, I decided to root my N7 and mess around with a few different roms. Well, apparently I didn't read pages carefully enough because I am now the proud owner of a deb tablet with a flo bootloader on it. My fastboot screen reads:
PRODUCT NAME - deb
VARIANT - deb 32G
...
BOOTLOADER VERSION - FLO-04.02
BASEBAND VERSION - DEB-GOO_2.37.0_1024

I realized this when trying to install CM11, and got errors saying the package was for deb but device is flo.

I've tried to flash factory, but it still leaves me with the incorrect bootloader. FWIW, I'm doing this on a Mac, and won't have access to a PC for at least a few days. Any help would be really appreciated

Have you just tried flashing the bootloader independently? Instead of flashing the full factory package?

On Mac the command will be ./fastboot flash bootloader <name of bootloader>.img

Hope this helps?

Stewart
13th February 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuMcBill

Have you just tried flashing the bootloader independently? Instead of flashing the full factory package?

On Mac the command will be ./fastboot flash bootloader <name of bootloader>.img

Hope this helps?

Stewart

Yeah...gave that a shot too. Flash works, but when I reboot, it still gives me the flo bootloader
13th February 2014, 10:59 AM   |  #4  
StuMcBill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
1,735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahames

Yeah...gave that a shot too. Flash works, but when I reboot, it still gives me the flo bootloader

Hmmm, weird! Are you totally sure you haven't downloaded the flo factory image by mistake? I know you will have checked already, but I can't really think of anything else?

Maybe try flashing an older bootloader version?
13th February 2014, 11:43 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuMcBill

Hmmm, weird! Are you totally sure you haven't downloaded the flo factory image by mistake? I know you will have checked already, but I can't really think of anything else?

Maybe try flashing an older bootloader version?

Was working with the 4.4.2 image. Going to give the 4.4 a shot now
13th February 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Same thing with 4.4...still stuck with the flo bootloader
14th February 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #7  
Richieboy67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CT
Thanks Meter: 350
 
1,983 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Wug is also really good for this.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
25th March 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #8  
Member
Mexico
Thanks Meter: 27
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
same issue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richieboy67

Wug is also really good for this.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

I am sorry what is WUG, today a guy arrived to my shop with the same problem, wonder if anyone has a solution? thanks
25th March 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #9  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by skfalco

I am sorry what is WUG, today a guy arrived to my shop with the same problem, wonder if anyone has a solution? thanks

Wug's has a toolkit. I prefere fastboot over toolkits.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th March 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #10  
Richieboy67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CT
Thanks Meter: 350
 
1,983 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skfalco

I am sorry what is WUG, today a guy arrived to my shop with the same problem, wonder if anyone has a solution? thanks

It is here

http://www.wugfresh.com/

It is a toolkit that makes these things very easy. I have used this many times and have never had any issues with it.

---------- Post added at 09:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinearEquation

Wug's has a toolkit. I prefere fastboot over toolkits.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Well for beginners the toolkits make things very simple. This one has been around for a very long time and is very stable. I have never had any issues with this at all.

Just have to be sure you follow the simple instructions and make the right selections in the menus.. easy peasy..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloader, brick, deb
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes