FORUMS

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Greetings,

I would have liked to post this questions, where it belongs to, but I'm new to this forum, so I put it here.

Last September I've updated my DHD following the instructions given in the thread mentioned in the headline and everything was fine. Yesterday in the evening, I got the notification to restart using the recovery mode, because something in the context of the superuser should be updated or modified. Because it was not the first time, I just did it. But this time, after rebooting, the device stopped with the HTC bootscreen (green HTC on white background).

After 10 minutes I took out the battery and restarted again. Again I was able to choose recovery mode, but while starting the DHD got stuck with the bootscreen. I decided to wait and just put it aside showing the boot screen, but the result this morning was that the battery is empty and nothing changed.

Does someone know about that issue and what do I need to do to get the device to work again? Why was this update needed in the first place?

Thanks a lot in advance...
17th February 2014, 01:17 PM |#2  
PHOENIX-9's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lattakia
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
im not sure why
but have you tried re-flashing the ROM?
17th February 2014, 06:19 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOENIX-9

im not sure why
but have you tried re-flashing the ROM?

Not yet. I was afraid to loose all data and maybe exchaning a file would also do the job. I mean, the update of the superuser component has changed something and this could be corrected again.
18th February 2014, 06:15 AM |#4  
PHOENIX-9's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lattakia
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKrittel

Not yet. I was afraid to loose all data and maybe exchaning a file would also do the job. I mean, the update of the superuser component has changed something and this could be corrected again.

try to back up your ROM
do a clean install..then restore only the data (advanced restore)..wipe dalvik and cashe
if it didnt boot..you can restore your data using titanium backup pro from the CWM back up
The Following User Says Thank You to PHOENIX-9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 07:30 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOENIX-9

try to back up your ROM
do a clean install..then restore only the data (advanced restore)..wipe dalvik and cashe
if it didnt boot..you can restore your data using titanium backup pro from the CWM back up

Tried to make a backup, but it recovering did not work. Doesn't matter. I just flashed the same image again, downloaded 'my' apps and restored the status from before the crash.
Nevertheless the same notification showed up, saying that the superuser kernel needs to be updated and I should use 'recovery mode' again. With a bad feeling, I did it again, but this time it works.
So to sum it up: device was useless for some days, restored it with some effort and now it works again. But I need to get prepared for the next time and to think of an app to backup all apps including app-data.

...but as always, this is a task for laaaaater

Thx,
Karl
Last edited by KKrittel; 18th February 2014 at 08:13 PM.
17th February 2014, 06:46 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,614
 
More
If you don't wipe your data partition (dirty flash) and you flash the exact same ROM, you shouldn't lose data.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Desire HD Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank