5,605,250 Members 38,471 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [ROM][10 Sep][4.0.4][Sense 4.1 Lite][OTA|HUB|EQS... -- stuck bootscreen

Tip us?
 
KKrittel
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Question [Q] [ROM][10 Sep][4.0.4][Sense 4.1 Lite][OTA|HUB|EQS... -- stuck bootscreen

Greetings,

I would have liked to post this questions, where it belongs to, but I'm new to this forum, so I put it here.

Last September I've updated my DHD following the instructions given in the thread mentioned in the headline and everything was fine. Yesterday in the evening, I got the notification to restart using the recovery mode, because something in the context of the superuser should be updated or modified. Because it was not the first time, I just did it. But this time, after rebooting, the device stopped with the HTC bootscreen (green HTC on white background).

After 10 minutes I took out the battery and restarted again. Again I was able to choose recovery mode, but while starting the DHD got stuck with the bootscreen. I decided to wait and just put it aside showing the boot screen, but the result this morning was that the battery is empty and nothing changed.

Does someone know about that issue and what do I need to do to get the device to work again? Why was this update needed in the first place?

Thanks a lot in advance...
 
PHOENIX-9
Old
#2  
PHOENIX-9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 175
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lattakia
im not sure why
but have you tried re-flashing the ROM?
Thanks Button wont hurt if i helped

HTC Desire HD - Eng S-Off
4Ext Recovery Touch 1.0.0.5 RC9
Provider: MTN Syria
ROM: SVHD 1.7.5
OS: Android 4.0.4
Sense: 4.1 Full


 
KKrittel
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOENIX-9 View Post
im not sure why
but have you tried re-flashing the ROM?
Not yet. I was afraid to loose all data and maybe exchaning a file would also do the job. I mean, the update of the superuser component has changed something and this could be corrected again.
 
PHOENIX-9
Old
#4  
PHOENIX-9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 175
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lattakia
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKrittel View Post
Not yet. I was afraid to loose all data and maybe exchaning a file would also do the job. I mean, the update of the superuser component has changed something and this could be corrected again.
try to back up your ROM
do a clean install..then restore only the data (advanced restore)..wipe dalvik and cashe
if it didnt boot..you can restore your data using titanium backup pro from the CWM back up
Thanks Button wont hurt if i helped

HTC Desire HD - Eng S-Off
4Ext Recovery Touch 1.0.0.5 RC9
Provider: MTN Syria
ROM: SVHD 1.7.5
OS: Android 4.0.4
Sense: 4.1 Full


The Following User Says Thank You to PHOENIX-9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KKrittel
Old
(Last edited by KKrittel; 18th February 2014 at 08:13 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOENIX-9 View Post
try to back up your ROM
do a clean install..then restore only the data (advanced restore)..wipe dalvik and cashe
if it didnt boot..you can restore your data using titanium backup pro from the CWM back up
Tried to make a backup, but it recovering did not work. Doesn't matter. I just flashed the same image again, downloaded 'my' apps and restored the status from before the crash.
Nevertheless the same notification showed up, saying that the superuser kernel needs to be updated and I should use 'recovery mode' again. With a bad feeling, I did it again, but this time it works.
So to sum it up: device was useless for some days, restored it with some effort and now it works again. But I need to get prepared for the next time and to think of an app to backup all apps including app-data.

...but as always, this is a task for laaaaater

Thx,
Karl
 
bananagranola
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1591
Posts: 3,739
Join Date: Jul 2012
If you don't wipe your data partition (dirty flash) and you flash the exact same ROM, you shouldn't lose data.
Please do not PM me tech support questions. They're best suited for the open forums, where multiple pairs of eyes are on the problem.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more