Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

CMD wont Change to \Android

OP bb2si

16th February 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!
16th February 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #3  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?
17th February 2014, 03:35 AM   |  #4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #5  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?
17th February 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?

Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
18th February 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #7  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392684129227.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	2585613  
18th February 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 87
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
More
Don't use Superuser by ChainsDD anymore.. Personally I would love to continue to use it but he is basically no longer supporting his Superuser app and binary and hasn't updated it in a very long time. SuperSU by Chainfire is constantly being updated therefore made to work with all current versions of Android.. Quite frankly it's all the same basically anyways I just liked the skull and cross bone look lol... Chainfire is a monster as well and has a ton of root related apps and cool things going on. ChainsDD I guess passed the torch on to Chainfire???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app



---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..
18th February 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #9  
iondokk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
[ Don't use Superuser by ChainsDD anymore.. Personally I would love to continue to use it but he is basically no longer supporting his Superuser app and binary and hasn't updated it in a very long time. SuperSU by Chainfire is constantly being updated therefore made to work with all current versions of Android.. Quite frankly it's all the same basically anyways I just liked the skull and cross bone look lol... Chainfire is a monster as well and has a ton of root related apps and cool things going on. ChainsDD I guess passed the torch on to Chainfire


Continue Reading ....


---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..




---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..[/QUOTE]

That's NFC go to settings and more to disable...
Then inject some Venom!

Ahhhh... Max Venom injection! Much better now...
18th February 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #10  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,130
 
2,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Have you checked out which apps you can actually disable via the stock app manager before freezing them with tibu?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes