Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,397 Members 47,811 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CMD wont Change to \Android

Tip us?
 
bb2si
Old
#1  
bb2si's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 117
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Default CMD wont Change to \Android

I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!
 
dottat
Old
#2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,901
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si View Post
I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!
You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
bb2si
Old
#3  
bb2si's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 117
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat View Post
You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?
 
dottat
Old
#4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,901
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si View Post
Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?
Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
 
bb2si
Old
#5  
bb2si's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 117
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat View Post
Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?
 
dottat
Old
#6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,901
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si View Post
I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?
Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
 
bb2si
Old
#7  
bb2si's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 117
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392684129227.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	2585613  
History:
Samsung Mesmerize (USCC) - Stock
Motorola Electrify (USCC) - Rooted, Stock ROM
Samsung Galaxy S3 (Sprint) - Rooted, Codex ROM
HTC One (Sprint) - Rooted, Bad Boyz ROM
 
Murrda
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 167
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Long Island, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Don't use Superuser by ChainsDD anymore.. Personally I would love to continue to use it but he is basically no longer supporting his Superuser app and binary and hasn't updated it in a very long time. SuperSU by Chainfire is constantly being updated therefore made to work with all current versions of Android.. Quite frankly it's all the same basically anyways I just liked the skull and cross bone look lol... Chainfire is a monster as well and has a ton of root related apps and cool things going on. ChainsDD I guess passed the torch on to Chainfire???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si View Post
Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..
 
iondokk
Old
#9  
iondokk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 339
Join Date: Dec 2007
[ Don't use Superuser by ChainsDD anymore.. Personally I would love to continue to use it but he is basically no longer supporting his Superuser app and binary and hasn't updated it in a very long time. SuperSU by Chainfire is constantly being updated therefore made to work with all current versions of Android.. Quite frankly it's all the same basically anyways I just liked the skull and cross bone look lol... Chainfire is a monster as well and has a ton of root related apps and cool things going on. ChainsDD I guess passed the torch on to Chainfire


Continue Reading ....


---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..




---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Also I have no idea what that icon is next to the GPS icon.. You must be on Sprint, I'm on Verizon and I don't think I've seen that icon before..[/QUOTE]

That's NFC go to settings and more to disable...
Then inject some Venom!

Ahhhh... Max Venom injection! Much better now...
Note II
(ROM) ma5 stock
(KERNEL)Persues-Alpha32
(THEME) NONE
(MOD) NONE
(MODEM) ma5
-------------------
 
dottat
Old
#10  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 742
Posts: 1,901
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: york, pa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si View Post
Huzzah! Thanks again! Hopefully I can actually freeze/remove system apps without them being brought back after a reboot. Also, in the picture provided, what is that icon in the notification bar just right of the GPS icon? And, is there any way to hide some of the icons?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Have you checked out which apps you can actually disable via the stock app manager before freezing them with tibu?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...