FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I've been having this strange problem and I am convinced there is no simple solution. Every time I wipe date and install a rom, I try to sign in to the Google account during setup, and I keep getting an error saying that there was a problem communicating with Google servers. I've done a factory reset, formatted everything, tried different RUUs, and nothing seems to work. I just can't sign in on a Sense 5.5 rom. So now I want to clear the phone completely, because there must be something that no form of wiping is touching. A stock RUU can't solve the problem and I don't know what can. I even tried using LTE instead of WiFi and still no luck. Does anyone have any clue about this?
17th February 2014, 11:20 AM |#2  
donkeykong1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sesvete, Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 1,452
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

So I've been having this strange problem and I am convinced there is no simple solution. Every time I wipe date and install a rom, I try to sign in to the Google account during setup, and I keep getting an error saying that there was a problem communicating with Google servers. I've done a factory reset, formatted everything, tried different RUUs, and nothing seems to work. I just can't sign in on a Sense 5.5 rom. So now I want to clear the phone completely, because there must be something that no form of wiping is touching. A stock RUU can't solve the problem and I don't know what can. I even tried using LTE instead of WiFi and still no luck. Does anyone have any clue about this?

I had the same thing. My solution was wipe everyithing except data and internal memory. After that no more errors
17th February 2014, 06:19 PM |#3  
Prophet16's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by donkeykong1

I had the same thing. My solution was wipe everyithing except data and internal memory. After that no more errors

But I have wiped everything including internal storage and used usb-otg to install roms. Nothing works. Are you sure that will fix this?

EDIT: Can confirm that your recommendation doesn't work for me. I decided to flash a different rom (InsertCoin) and in this one I can sign in, but it won't sync, it just keeps saying "Google Sync error."
Last edited by Prophet16; 17th February 2014 at 06:25 PM. Reason: Update
17th February 2014, 06:24 PM |#4  
donkeykong1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sesvete, Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 1,452
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

But I have wiped everything including internal storage and used usb-otg to install roms. Nothing works. Are you sure that will fix this?

It did the trick for me. Also, I mount system in recovery before doing anything. I'm pretty new to this phone and never used any recovery except 4ext on my Desire and Evo so I can't be 100% sure, leaving data did the trick for me
17th February 2014, 07:51 PM |#5  
Prophet16's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I've tried a few new things so far. I used the mkfs.ext4 file to format the data partition as I think that's where the source of the issue lies. But I also used fastboot to format system. If this doesn't work then I don't know what else to to. I might be forced to run a GPe rom or some other android rom. I just strongly prefer sense.
17th February 2014, 09:21 PM |#6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,866
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

I've tried a few new things so far. I used the mkfs.ext4 file to format the data partition as I think that's where the source of the issue lies. But I also used fastboot to format system. If this doesn't work then I don't know what else to to. I might be forced to run a GPe rom or some other android rom. I just strongly prefer sense.

whats happens if you start a new account
18th February 2014, 04:41 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Define hard brick
18th February 2014, 10:58 AM |#8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,866
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Define hard brick

Hard Brick = Phone that has been thrown on the floor and crushed with a very large rock.
18th February 2014, 10:58 PM |#9  
Prophet16's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Define hard brick

That's when you can't enter the bootloader anymore. You hold the power button and the lights on the bottom don't flash and it'll just vibrate a bit. But it's all good I got the phone replaced today. So then I installed the rom I was trying to install earlier (the one where I couldn't sign in to google) and I ended up having the same issue. So I think I'm gonna just use ARHD or something.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
error, google, sign in
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes