Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck on 3G network!

OP allstrox

17th February 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
My Verizon Galaxy SIII is stuck on 3G, and will not access 4G. I am using Cyanogenmod 10.2.1 (stable).

The problem started when I was travelling, and used *228 to try and improve reception. I just meant to use option 2 to update the list of towers (Preferred Roaming list), but derped and pressed 1 instead. Option 2 just updates the list of towers, while option 1 also updates the location of my Home switch. No issues making receiving calls/texts etc, but stuck on 3G data speeds.

Once I returned home from my trip, I used *228 option 1 again to fix this, but it did not.
17th February 2014, 07:05 PM   |  #2  
Badouken's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by allstrox

My Verizon Galaxy SIII is stuck on 3G, and will not access 4G. I am using Cyanogenmod 10.2.1 (stable).

The problem started when I was travelling, and used *228 to try and improve reception. I just meant to use option 2 to update the list of towers (Preferred Roaming list), but derped and pressed 1 instead. Option 2 just updates the list of towers, while option 1 also updates the location of my Home switch. No issues making receiving calls/texts etc, but stuck on 3G data speeds.

Once I returned home from my trip, I used *228 option 1 again to fix this, but it did not.

I had the same issue for the longest time... and did everything you tried... I ended up giving up and going into the Verizon store and asking for a new Sim Card (Which is free of charge). After that BOOM 4G again! everywhere!!! I recommend going in and getting a new SIM card!
17th February 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badouken

I had the same issue for the longest time... and did everything you tried... I ended up giving up and going into the Verizon store and asking for a new Sim Card (Which is free of charge). After that BOOM 4G again! everywhere!!! I recommend going in and getting a new SIM card!

Thanks! Might have to do that if nothing else works. Can't let them see I have a custom ROM on my phone.
17th February 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #4  
Badouken's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by allstrox

Thanks! Might have to do that if nothing else works. Can't let them see I have a custom ROM on my phone.

Ya No Problem....funny thing was the employee there couldn't tell I had a custom rom on my phone... regardless of him being unable to find anything on my phone lol, If worse came to worse I was just going to play dumb and say my friend "did something" to my phone to make it look different.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes