Post Reply

[Q] Custom ROM: Stuck at Sony Logo Screen

21st February 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I am new to Android mod. I was trying to install CyanogenMod for Sony LWW from here: http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?dev...ut&type=stable

I installed CWM Recovery, and took a backup that gave me: cache.yaffs2.img data.yaffs2.img nandroid.md5 system.yaffs2.img
I followed the following steps:

0. Downloaded the ROM and placed it on your SD Card.
1. Booted into CWM Recovery
2. Wiped Cache, Wiped Data and went to "Mounts and Storage", and formatted "/system". Also, went to "Advanced", and wiped "Davlik-Cache"
3. Went to Install zip from SD.
4. Selected the Downloaded ROM zip file.

The installer crashed at assertion:

Code:
assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "WT19a" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "WT19a" || 
       getprop("ro.product.device") == "WT19i" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "WT19i" || 
       getprop("ro.product.device") == "coconut" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "coconut");
So, I had to reboot. When I rebooted... it was stuck at welcome screen.

I tried to go to CWM Recovery by holding volume-down key at boot. Nothing happened. Removed/replaced battery, tried again nothing happened.

So, I decided to follow "turning brick into smartphone" article here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1568792
I installed FlashTool on Ubuntu 13.10 as described here: http://duopetalflower.blogspot.in/20...ntu-linux.html
But Flashtool does not detect the device.

Can someone guide me how to fix this?

---
Edit:

When I tried to start in flashmode. Replaced battery, held the volume down key, and inserted USB jack. FlashTool showed "device connected", but then a few seconds later. It shows device disconnected and the phone goes back to welcome screen.
Last edited by naishe; 21st February 2014 at 05:54 PM. Reason: added some more details
22nd February 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
After hours of attempts, I am able to load stock rom that someone shared on this forum (.ftf). FlashTool was throwing checksum error for the file. Finally, just for the heck of it, tried using FlashTool in Windows instead of Ubuntu. It worked. Time to try CyanogenMod again.

The worst part, it felt like it does not charge battery without a working ROM. The biggest worry was to not to repeat experiments to avoid a situation where I have more tries to attempt but I am stuck with a dead battery. When ROM came up, the battery was 25% down from 100% 21hrs ago when I started modifying.

Couple of things to note:

1. When using FlashTool use it on Windows. On Linux/Ubuntu it seems buggy.
2. CyanogenMod on the official website threw an "assertion error", so, not sure that shall be tried or not.
3. The stock ROM in the "First Aid" thread mentioned in the OP works nicely.

Hope this helps someone who uses Linux as its primary OS.
Last edited by naishe; 22nd February 2014 at 10:11 AM. Reason: typo
22nd February 2014, 11:12 AM   |  #3  
Attitude.SSJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mangalore
Thanks Meter: 942
 
1,564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
It doesn't seem like you have flashed the kernel needed on cm roms...

Sent from my Xperia Neo V using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Attitude.SSJ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 01:27 PM   |  #4  
karandpr's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
1,563 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
There are lot of errors in how you installed ROM .

For starters it looks like you have NOT unlocked the bootloader.

You have used the Faux Soft recovery either from pvyparts or from some other tool .

Secondly you have formated /system from mounts and storage which essentially is not recommended for CM ROMs installation.
The standard updater script checks build and device version from earlier installed ROMs.The assert errors were due to the formating of .system.

Thirdly ,since you seem to have installed soft recovery ,the recovery was formatted when you formatted /system .Now the recovery will not be available unless you flashed a Locked Bootloader ROM or manually flashed recovery . Also since you formatted system ,the charging instructions available also got removed which resulted in no off-line charging.

Lastly CyanogenMod WONT work on locked bootloaders .You need to flash custom kernel and for that you need to unlock bootloader .Even if you had successfully installed ROM ,it would have resulted in a same situation + no recovery .
Last edited by karandpr; 22nd February 2014 at 01:46 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to karandpr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by karandpr

There are lot of errors in how you installed ROM .
...

Right. Forgot the golden rule of RTFM
I took instruction from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1748576 but instead of using the ROM provided in that thread. I used official CM zip.

I did not have bootloader unlocked.
I used X-parts from pvyparts to install CWM Recovery.
I formatted "/system" which seems to be an instruction in the thread I mention above.

Quote:

The standard updater script checks build and device version from earlier installed ROMs.The assert errors were due to the formating of .system.

This is what killed the installation. Though I commented the assertion in the script afterwards. It was too late. Because recovery was gone.

Fortunately, I got .ftf of stock OS, but FlashTool won't work on Ubuntu and provided ambiguous error. Finally, FlashTool worked on Windows, and I could get phone working.

I then followed the instruction on official CyanogenMod wiki ( http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_coconut ) and did exactly what you said. It worked. I have working CyanogenMod 9 on LWW and loving it.

Thanks for the explanation.

Also, how can I lock/close this thread?
23rd February 2014, 08:17 AM   |  #6  
mihahn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,178
 
3,225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by naishe

Also, how can I lock/close this thread?

There's no need to close it, as other guys with the same problem will be able to post here too to ask for help

If you have any of your threads that you want to be closed/moved or any other problems, use the orange triangle in the right corner of your post to report a thread and get moderator's attention

Sent from my Nexus 4 running Android 4.4
The Following User Says Thank You to mihahn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihahn

There's no need to close it, as other guys with the same problem will be able to post here too to ask for help

If you have any of your threads that you want to be closed/moved or any other problems, use the orange triangle in the right corner of your post to report a thread and get moderator's attention

Sent from my Nexus 4 running Android 4.4

I just had the same problem installing Viper V8 (bootlocker unlocked, etc etc)...
I'll try tomorrow with flashtool, but... How have You used it? It ask me to press Back button and reconnect device, but on Live With Walkman there's no Back Button...

Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes