Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No longer detected as a Truesmart

OP fg

22nd February 2014, 02:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
The newly released Companion App and Kurt's Watchfaces no longer detect my NA1900 1/8 as an Omate. Companion says "This app must be run on the Omate Truesmart" and Watchfaces wants me to buy it to unlock the premium options.

I have a feeling something's changed in the build.prop, but I don't know what an original build.prop looks like.

Before I go about restoring back to factory defaults, does anyone have a stock build.prop or some other ideas I might try?
22nd February 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #2  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,284
 
2,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
New patch coming out this weekend to address that.
22nd February 2014, 04:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Didn't even consider this as a side-effect of the root patch. Is this related to the framework-res modification included for the backlight settings or something in the build.prop?
23rd February 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

New patch coming out this weekend to address that.

Applied your patch, no change. Do you have an original build.prop or should I do a factory restore?
23rd February 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #5  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,284
 
2,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fg

Applied your patch, no change. Do you have an original build.prop or should I do a factory restore?

Which option did you use?
23rd February 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
option 1 first, then option 2
23rd February 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #7  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,284
 
2,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fg

option 1 first, then option 2

Walk me though exactly what you did and what the error is and when it happens. I can't get it to fail on either the EU 512/4 or the NA 1/8.

Just a heads up though, you are supposed to choose only one option as Operative install is Operative and the patch combined.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2014, 04:23 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by fg

option 1 first, then option 2


tried again a few times and now option 2 seems to have resolved this
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes