Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,940 Members 47,022 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rendering Meshes, how many triangles are too many?

Tip us?
 
dgGameDev
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Rendering Meshes, how many triangles are too many?

Hi,
I am experimenting with Mesh that I am filling in with colors.

I end up with 900 triangles that are have positions updated about 20 times per second.
On PC it works flawlessly, on my Nexus 4 its rather slow.

Is my code crap, or its too much to render real time?

Thanks!
 
EmptinessFiller
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 88
Join Date: Sep 2013
Are your calculate the new position with the delta time (time between this and the last frame)?
 
dgGameDev
Old
(Last edited by dgGameDev; 23rd February 2014 at 02:01 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmptinessFiller View Post
Are your calculate the new position with the delta time (time between this and the last frame)?
Hi ,yes I use delta time, and the actual new positions are calculated fine for my triangles.
e.g if I put it as wire frames (outlines only) it renders quick enough.
But if I make them filled with color, all halts to grid

I thought 1st person shooter games do way heavier calcs, and seem to survive fine...
Mine item is more like a water simulation, and to look decent it needs about 800 triangles filled at least with solid
color no transparency... any hints please?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes