Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] How to use Flashtool

OP mrjraider

23rd February 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
4,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hi everybody welcome to my tutorial about Flashing with Flashtool. This thread is for those who want to reflash their device back to Sony Stock. See below for last details about this thread and the last build by Sony.


Note: Dropbox is being annoying and has sent me an email stating my public links (also the pictures below) are creating too much traffic. I have disabled the BAN I got but I've no idea how long it will last. So please sent me a PM if you know a better "picture share service thing" Thanks

Created: 23-02-2014
Updated: 05-07-2014
Latest Android build released by Sony: 12.1.A.1.205


Let's begin shall we.. We shall!

First you need to download the correct ftf file for your device/operator or needs. This can be done here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2311964 In there you can share and download firmware files in .ftf format..

You alsol need a program called Flashtool. You can download this here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=920746
For Windows 8 and 8.1 users I also recommend you to read this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2095087 Microsoft has enhanced the security in Windows 8/8.1 and Windows won't install proper signed drivers.

When you are done with that you need to move your downloaded firmware file to the proper location for flashtool to be found:
C:\Flashtool\Firmwares

After that you are good to go, just remember the following:
  • Bootloader locked? If not you wont have BE2/OTA/PCC etc (for unlocking and relocking: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2354721 )
  • I've made backups of my important files that are stored on my phone?
  • Battery at atleast 50%?
  • I have patience?
  • I got something to do meanwhile?
The last two things are very important

Let's get started:

1: Open Flashtool:


Flashtool(.exe) for 32Bits systems and Flashtool64(.exe) for 64Bits systems

2: Press the Lightningbolt picture and select Flashmode

This will give another screen.

3: Select the downloaded ftf. (In this case 2.254)

Make sure that all the wipes are checked and the others are unchecked. This is to prevent any bootloops or other problems after downgrading.

4: Press Flash and the next two lines will be added to the flashtool log

The files are being prepared and checked. Have a bit of patience please.

5: Turn off your phone and turn it back on into Flashmode

After this the process will start.


After flashing you can disconnect your phone and boot it up.

Via Flashtool you can also reset your system after. For example:
You are running the latest ExistenZe ROM from our beloved Niaboc79 and you want to go back to stock for a reason WITHOUT losing data! Just flash the last Stock ROM and untick the following boxes:


Untick DATA and APPSLOG!! But keep CACHE to wipe the /cache (is the same as a wipe cache via CWM).

FAQ


- My Phone wont stay into flashmode
> Turn it off, wait a few minutes and turn it back into flashmode

- Flashtool wont recognise my phone
> Make sure you have the proper drivers installed. See C://Flashtool/Drivers

- Flashing failed
> Problem depends on the error code given by Flashtool. Post the problem here and perhaps we can help

- Got a bootloop
> Reflash again

- Even after reflash I got into a bootloop
> Turn off your phone via the small button behind the batterycover and wait a few minutes. Then try again. If that doesnt work you need to flash again.

- Booting takes ages
> This is normal. The entire cache needs to be rebuild. Patience my dear..

- After flashing and booting my phone is laggy.
> Reboot device and wait a bit. The phone needs to fully reset and boot itself. Have some patience dear.

- Do I need to unlock my bootloader to use flashtool
> NO!

- Can I unlock my bootloader with flashtool?
> NO!

- Can I relock my bootloader with flashtool?
> Yes
Last edited by mrjraider; 10th August 2014 at 05:26 PM.
The Following 55 Users Say Thank You to mrjraider For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
4,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
> Reserved by me
Last edited by mrjraider; 18th April 2014 at 08:54 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mrjraider For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2014, 08:20 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Question downgrade to root?
first, thanks! Very nice guide. I'm new to the experia world, my previous phone was a Desire S.

I have a question:
I have a problem with all stock roms with the mediaserver process. It is always running while I listen to music (which is a lot of time) and drains a lot of battery (up to 65%). Though I use poweramp player which is totally independent of the process (own library and decoder). On my Desire S on CM11 I don't have the issue this is why I want to move to a custom rom. I'm on 4.3 now (was hoping this would fix the issue) and want to root and full backup with keys for warranty purposes and then move to a custom rom.
Is it right that I have to downgrade first, since there is no root for 4.3 yet? If yes, what ROM? I have a C5303 and don't know what version I had previously. I bought it in Switzerland without SIMlock or any branding. Is there a way I can find out what my previous version was or can I basically just use any generic C5303 version?
Would you recommend 12.0.A.1.284 in order to be able to use DoomLords rootkit: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post42701183 ?
It's just that I don't know if I ever was on this version, also regarding warranty...

I know, many questions, but I just reached a point where I don't seem to get further without asking. Hope someone can clarify some of them.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: And also I was wondering: In the picture says flashmode is reached by pressing the back button while connection, but there are softkeys. Is it not done with volume down?
Last edited by eggerph; 24th February 2014 at 08:24 PM.
26th February 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #4  
TheMorpheus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marche_Marotta (PU)
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjraider

Small changes.. @ moderators Is it possible this can become a sticky?

+1 for a sticky!
Nice done!
26th February 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMorpheus

+1 for a sticky!
Nice done!

after flashing done
i have to turn on phone & make usb debugging & unknown source option check
but whenever i am going to boot it again reboot after colour bootscreen
i had tried number of times flashing again & again

i am attaching my flashtool log file also

Azhar
Attached Files
File Type: doc flashtool_2014-02-21_03-29-11.doc - [Click for QR Code] (3.9 KB, 289 views)
27th February 2014, 09:32 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
4,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
According to the log you attached everything went fine. So I dont understand the problem.
Perhaps an idea to redownload it? Sometimes it wont work properly because the ftf file is somewhat damaged..
The Following User Says Thank You to mrjraider For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 10:05 AM   |  #7  
TheMorpheus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marche_Marotta (PU)
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I have to relock the bootloader before restore?

Edit
No, it's not needed!
Last edited by TheMorpheus; 27th February 2014 at 10:48 AM.
12th July 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
my led light is stuck on green
any suggestions
12th July 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,159
 
4,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
When you connect it to the pc it should turn green because that is flashmode.. Or did you mean something else?
Bit more intel
12th July 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjraider

When you connect it to the pc it should turn green because that is flashmode.. Or did you mean something else?
Bit more intel

even when i disconnect the phone its green

---------- Post added at 05:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:45 PM ----------

thank u guys and the admin so much for this post really i have spent hours searchiung for a good one and i found the best guide really really helpful. my phone back to working now
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
2.254, downgrade to 4.1.2 xperia sp, downgrading, sony xperia sp jelly bean 4.1.2, tutorial
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes