Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,250 Members 41,791 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Editing Build.prop to change model not working

Tip us?
 
CustomRomAddicts
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Editing Build.prop to change model not working

Alright, i am trying to change my model value to GT-5100 to run Ported Note 8 version of Polaris Tablet ( the last one ) ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p#post39841099 )

In that xperiacle has recommended to change the change ro.product.model value to GT-N5100 using build prop editor.

I downloaded this application ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...p.editor&hl=en )

and in the ro.product.model to GT-5100 and i saved it and rebooted.. But it isn't working!

Anyone help please.. Thanks a lot in advance
 
nokiamodeln91
Old
#2  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2632
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomRomAddicts View Post
Alright, i am trying to change my model value to GT-5100 to run Ported Note 8 version of Polaris Tablet ( the last one ) ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p#post39841099 )

In that xperiacle has recommended to change the change ro.product.model value to GT-N5100 using build prop editor.

I downloaded this application ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...p.editor&hl=en )

and in the ro.product.model to GT-5100 and i saved it and rebooted.. But it isn't working!

Anyone help please.. Thanks a lot in advance
Try using root explorer and edit it manually. Once edited, reopen the file and check if your changes saved. Also if you using Philz recovery, it sometimes does not work.
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CustomRomAddicts
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nokiamodeln91 View Post
Try using root explorer and edit it manually. Once edited, reopen the file and check if your changes saved. Also if you using Philz recovery, it sometimes does not work.
Well, i am on Hello world kernel and I will try the root explorer and update whether it worked or not!

Thanks for your reply..
 
nokiamodeln91
Old
#4  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2632
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomRomAddicts View Post
Well, i am on Hello world kernel and I will try the root explorer and update whether it worked or not!

Thanks for your reply..
that kernel uses philz recovery too.
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CustomRomAddicts
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2013
Yep. I know. Thanks for your reply.. Ok so do we have to change only the ro.product.model

or do we have to change the following also?

ro.product.name=
ro.product.device=
ro.product.board=
ro.build.product=
 
nokiamodeln91
Old
#6  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2632
Posts: 7,025
Join Date: Jun 2012
i think... but keep a backup.. phone might boot loop..
ro.product.model=GT-N7000
ro.product.device=GT-N7000
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes