FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Alright, i am trying to change my model value to GT-5100 to run Ported Note 8 version of Polaris Tablet ( the last one ) ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p#post39841099 )

In that xperiacle has recommended to change the change ro.product.model value to GT-N5100 using build prop editor.

I downloaded this application ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...p.editor&hl=en )

and in the ro.product.model to GT-5100 and i saved it and rebooted.. But it isn't working!

Anyone help please.. Thanks a lot in advance
25th February 2014, 03:13 PM |#2  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,746
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomRomAddicts

Alright, i am trying to change my model value to GT-5100 to run Ported Note 8 version of Polaris Tablet ( the last one ) ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p#post39841099 )

In that xperiacle has recommended to change the change ro.product.model value to GT-N5100 using build prop editor.

I downloaded this application ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...p.editor&hl=en )

and in the ro.product.model to GT-5100 and i saved it and rebooted.. But it isn't working!

Anyone help please.. Thanks a lot in advance

Try using root explorer and edit it manually. Once edited, reopen the file and check if your changes saved. Also if you using Philz recovery, it sometimes does not work.
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 03:31 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nokiamodeln91

Try using root explorer and edit it manually. Once edited, reopen the file and check if your changes saved. Also if you using Philz recovery, it sometimes does not work.

Well, i am on Hello world kernel and I will try the root explorer and update whether it worked or not!

Thanks for your reply..
25th February 2014, 03:38 PM |#4  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,746
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CustomRomAddicts

Well, i am on Hello world kernel and I will try the root explorer and update whether it worked or not!

Thanks for your reply..

that kernel uses philz recovery too.
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 03:45 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Yep. I know. Thanks for your reply.. Ok so do we have to change only the ro.product.model

or do we have to change the following also?

ro.product.name=
ro.product.device=
ro.product.board=
ro.build.product=
25th February 2014, 03:54 PM |#6  
nokiamodeln91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,746
 
More
i think... but keep a backup.. phone might boot loop..
ro.product.model=GT-N7000
ro.product.device=GT-N7000
The Following User Says Thank You to nokiamodeln91 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes