FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more

Which Manufacturer (And Device) Made You Choose Android?

The beautiful thing about Android is that there is so much to choose from. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

4.3 and Sim Unlock

26th February 2014, 06:19 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Been reading the forums and realize it is not possible to go from 4.3 back to 4.1.1 to unlock via service menu.

My question is this, if I root 4.3 can the phone be Sim unlocked that way? I'm asking on behalf of some coworkers.

Thanks for reading.

Sent from my GT-I9505G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th February 2014, 08:29 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
50+ views? Some one has to know something!!

Sent from my GT-I9505G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th February 2014, 10:55 PM |#3  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,873
 
More
There is no way to unlock on 4.3 unless you get an unlock code.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2014, 11:48 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Thanks guys.

Sent from my GT-I9505G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
28th February 2014, 05:08 PM |#5  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
In not trying to say anything but i have downgraded on the AT&T S3 from 4.3 to 4.1.1/4.1.2/4.2.1 Os wise. I did it through Odin but to not use any bootloaders. I learned the first time and bricked but gladly im the end had an unlocked Sł

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Last edited by xSharpi; 28th February 2014 at 05:11 PM.
1st March 2014, 03:25 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xSharpi

In not trying to say anything but i have downgraded on the AT&T S3 from 4.3 to 4.1.1/4.1.2/4.2.1 Os wise. I did it through Odin but to not use any bootloaders. I learned the first time and bricked but gladly im the end had an unlocked Sł

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Could you kindly share the detailed steps you took to do this for everyone's learning and benefit. Thanks
1st March 2014, 03:42 AM |#7  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

Could you kindly share the detailed steps you took to do this for everyone's learning and benefit. Thanks

So I haven't been on a S3 for a little while but I do remember. In fact if you want to downgrade the AT&T S3 (SGH-I717) from 4.3 to lower firmwares such as 4.1.1 for free unlocking download this: http://terafile.co/407413755110/I747...CDLK3_HOME.zip which will be the stock 4.1.1 ROM. I REPEAT DO NOT FLASH ANY BOOTLOADERS AS IT WILL RESULT IN A HARDBRICK!!! THE ZIP ONLY CONTAINS THE OS SO YOU'RE GOOD. You'll need Odin, I prefer 3.07 because the new 3.09 changes the button names. You can download Odin from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1341114315

Alright so on to the downgrading. (this will wipe everything so back up before hand)
"I'm not held responsible for any damage to your device. You have been WARNED"

1. Turn off the device and go into download mode by holding the power button and volume up, you should be greeted with some description press volume up to continue
2. Plug your device into your computer and open Odin.
3. Click PDA and search for the ROM you dowloaded. (Make sure you extract the ROM out of its zip form to get the .tar)
4. One selected in PDA press start and sit back and enjoy your free unlock(: this can be used for any stock OS just remember to not flash any bootloaders

Side Note: It takes a while to flash and also reboot. If the phone doesn't reboot do a factory reset through the recovery and it should boot. I believe this will also work for other variants of the S3 as long as you have the right stock image

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Last edited by xSharpi; 1st March 2014 at 07:23 AM.
1st March 2014, 12:29 PM |#8  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,873
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xSharpi

So I haven't been on a S3 for a little while but I do remember. In fact if you want to downgrade the AT&T S3 (SGH-I717) from 4.3 to lower firmwares such as 4.1.1 for free unlocking download this: http://terafile.co/407413755110/I747...CDLK3_HOME.zip which will be the stock 4.1.1 ROM. I REPEAT DO NOT FLASH ANY BOOTLOADERS AS IT WILL RESULT IN A HARDBRICK!!! THE ZIP ONLY CONTAINS THE OS SO YOU'RE GOOD. You'll need Odin, I prefer 3.07 because the new 3.09 changes the button names. You can download Odin from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1341114315

Alright so on to the downgrading. (this will wipe everything so back up before hand)
"I'm not held responsible for any damage to your device. You have been WARNED"

1. Turn off the device and go into download mode by holding the power button and volume up, you should be greeted with some description press volume up to continue
2. Plug your device into your computer and open Odin.
3. Click PDA and search for the ROM you dowloaded. (Make sure you extract the ROM out of its zip form to get the .tar)
4. One selected in PDA press start and sit back and enjoy your free unlock(: this can be used for any stock OS just remember to not flash any bootloaders

Side Note: It takes a while to flash and also reboot. If the phone doesn't reboot do a factory reset through the recovery and it should boot. I believe this will also work for other variants of the S3 as long as you have the right stock image

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Do you remove the bootloader from the tar file by deleting it from the file to be flashed via Odin?
1st March 2014, 03:54 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Info 2 Good Question
That is a Good question Audit. I second that as I am also interested in the answer to that.
Last edited by jub2k3; 1st March 2014 at 03:58 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank