CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more

Customized Ultra Stamina for Xperia

XDA Senior Member androidexpert35 has provided us a customized Ultra Stamine Mode from the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

My new Xperia Z Ultra screen doesn't look as good as my old

1st March 2014, 12:23 AM |#1  
jamesst20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,137
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Hi,

I had to buy a new Sony Xperia Z Ultra, and it looks like the screen is not as beautiful as my old one.

Here are pictures, left is new cell phone, right is old cell phone. My new Cell Phone comes from Sony Store and my old one from Bell Canada. I did unlock once my new phone but I did backup TA and restore it (yes it did relock bootloader and still is), I guess the issue is not there. They are both running latest version.

Is it an hardware difference or software?





Thanks

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"
1st March 2014, 03:15 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Is it at the same settings? Check the display setting, X Reality, White Balance, and Brightness.
1st March 2014, 04:04 AM |#3  
jamesst20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,137
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Yes it is :/

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"
1st March 2014, 08:21 AM |#4  
martin132014's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
512 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
This looks like white balance setting....try fiddle with it...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
1st March 2014, 12:40 PM |#5  
jamesst20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,137
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin132014

This looks like white balance setting....try fiddle with it...

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk

Like I said, both are at 0,0,0 :/

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"
1st March 2014, 01:04 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Same
Just i realize, no wonder my friend's z ultra its much better screen than me. I thought the screen protector make difference.
I don't think so, its related to white balance. =.=" its remain same after adjusted.
The Following User Says Thank You to Speederoff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2014, 02:32 PM |#7  
jamesst20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,137
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speederoff

Same
Just i realize, no wonder my friend's z ultra its much better screen than me. I thought the screen protector make difference.
I don't think so, its related to white balance. =.=" its remain same after adjusted.

Glad I am not alone in this case

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"
1st March 2014, 02:44 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesst20

Glad I am not alone in this case

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"

No wonder sony update white balance for z ultra =.=". Share with me the most accurate balance with me =.="
1st March 2014, 05:11 PM |#9  
jamesst20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,137
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Type this in terminal:
su
dmesg|grep -i panel

Output:

<3>[ 0.557448] mdss_mdp_parse_bootarg: mdss_mdp_parse_bootarg:1353:cmdline panel not set disp_idx=[ (null)]
<3>[ 0.610783] mdss_dsi_panel_init: gpio=0
<6>[ 0.640835] mdss_panel_parse_dt: Panel Name = default renesas 1080p video
<6>[ 0.641070] mdss_dsi_panel_init:2171 Continuous splash flag not found.
<6>[ 0.641082] mdss_dsi_panel_init:2187 Partial update disabled.
<3>[ 0.641259] dsi_panel_device_register:1250, Unable to read Phy lane configure settings
<6>[ 0.641781] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi
<3>[ 0.641960] mdss_dsi_find_panel_of_node:can't find panel phandle
<3>[ 0.641968] mdss_dsi_ctrl_probe: can't find panel node
<6>[ 0.643395] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device fd922100.qcom,hdmi_tx
<6>[ 0.871726] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device qcom,mdss_wb_panel.5
<6>[ 0.872976] mdss_dsi_ctrl fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi: mipi_dsi_panel_create_debugfs: create folder fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi
<6>[ 1.104054] mdss_panel_parse_dt: Panel Name = sharp renesas 1080p video new id
<6>[ 1.204031] mdss_dsi_panel_pcc_setup (1349):ct=0 area=10 ud=32 vd=42 r=0x00007180 g=0x00007800 b=0x00008000
<6>[ 1.279259] mdss_dsi_panel_on: ctrl=ee2f6010 ndx=0


According to this, I got Sharp Renesas on my new phone. I got to root my old phone in order to check which model it is, I will report back later

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"
1st March 2014, 05:18 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesst20

Type this in terminal:
su
dmesg|grep -i panel

Output:

<3>[ 0.557448] mdss_mdp_parse_bootarg: mdss_mdp_parse_bootarg:1353:cmdline panel not set disp_idx=[ (null)]
<3>[ 0.610783] mdss_dsi_panel_init: gpio=0
<6>[ 0.640835] mdss_panel_parse_dt: Panel Name = default renesas 1080p video
<6>[ 0.641070] mdss_dsi_panel_init:2171 Continuous splash flag not found.
<6>[ 0.641082] mdss_dsi_panel_init:2187 Partial update disabled.
<3>[ 0.641259] dsi_panel_device_register:1250, Unable to read Phy lane configure settings
<6>[ 0.641781] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi
<3>[ 0.641960] mdss_dsi_find_panel_of_node:can't find panel phandle
<3>[ 0.641968] mdss_dsi_ctrl_probe: can't find panel node
<6>[ 0.643395] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device fd922100.qcom,hdmi_tx
<6>[ 0.871726] mdss_register_panel: adding framebuffer device qcom,mdss_wb_panel.5
<6>[ 0.872976] mdss_dsi_ctrl fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi: mipi_dsi_panel_create_debugfs: create folder fd922800.qcom,mdss_dsi
<6>[ 1.104054] mdss_panel_parse_dt: Panel Name = sharp renesas 1080p video new id
<6>[ 1.204031] mdss_dsi_panel_pcc_setup (1349):ct=0 area=10 ud=32 vd=42 r=0x00007180 g=0x00007800 b=0x00008000
<6>[ 1.279259] mdss_dsi_panel_on: ctrl=ee2f6010 ndx=0


According to this, I got Sharp Renesas on my new phone. I got to root my old phone in order to check which model it is, I will report back later

"Envoyé depuis mon C6806 avec Tapatalk"

Same.. sharp renesas, I think Sony push this panel on LTE version as 6833.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes