Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,966 Members 41,512 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 4.4.2 Update NAE Stock GPS Problem

Tip us?
 
Shark0011
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default [Q] 4.4.2 Update NAE Stock GPS Problem

Hey guys,

After updating my phone to NAE it sporadically looks for its gps coordinates even when I am not running any apps. When I click on App Info when its searching for the gps it is SystemUI. Also Google Plus is taking up the majority of my battery now.. 31%

Does anyone know why this is happening and if you guys have found a fix?

Thanks
 
cmonsterf50
Old
#2  
cmonsterf50's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 285
Posts: 601
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark0011 View Post
Hey guys,

After updating my phone to NAE it sporadically looks for its gps coordinates even when I am not running any apps. When I click on App Info when its searching for the gps it is SystemUI. Also Google Plus is taking up the majority of my battery now.. 31%

Does anyone know why this is happening and if you guys have found a fix?

Thanks
You might check your gps settings. See what option is selected. I know you can use certain network settings. Some apps check for gps periodically. My guess with gplus is its checking for updates constantly. You might look at those settings.

Are you running stock nae?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S4 - White (Sprint)
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - White (2012)
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 (T217S)
Google ChromeCast

Super Moderator - themikmik.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Retired Devices:
Nexus 7 (2012)
HTC Evo LTE
Kindle Fire HD
HTC Evo 4G
BlackBerry 8330
The Following User Says Thank You to cmonsterf50 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Shark0011
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmonsterf50 View Post
You might check your gps settings. See what option is selected. I know you can use certain network settings. Some apps check for gps periodically. My guess with gplus is its checking for updates constantly. You might look at those settings.

Are you running stock nae?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Yes I am running stock NAE. I changed the locating method for google to "GPS Only" where as before it was "High Accuracy" I'll see if that does anything.

Thanks!
 
cmonsterf50
Old
#4  
cmonsterf50's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 285
Posts: 601
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark0011 View Post
Yes I am running stock NAE. I changed the locating method for google to "GPS Only" where as before it was "High Accuracy" I'll see if that does anything.

Thanks!
That should help with battery life at least
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S4 - White (Sprint)
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - White (2012)
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 (T217S)
Google ChromeCast

Super Moderator - themikmik.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Retired Devices:
Nexus 7 (2012)
HTC Evo LTE
Kindle Fire HD
HTC Evo 4G
BlackBerry 8330
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes