Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

a useful little trick...

OP redheadplantguy

2nd March 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 36
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
hello everyone. just wanted to share a little trick i figured out.
occasionally i run short on bills, and broadband gets cut off.
lovely thing i found out how to do is, feed my mobile data into my home router.
i do this through laptop. pretty simple.
1: tether phone to computer
2: go into windows network settings.
3: click change adapter settings.
4: highlite your tether and your lan both. hold ctrl and click each of them.
5: right click and "Bridge Connection"
6: plug a lan cable from computer ethernet into line IN on router.
7: Wifi through whole house WITH ports for wired connections.
8: DANCE AND GIGGLE FOR SCREWING THE BIG CORPORATIONS!

quite useful if you have the unlimited lte like i do. i've used over 70 gb in a month before running everything.

if you like this, click thanks please.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to redheadplantguy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd March 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #2  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,411
 
6,852 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by redheadplantguy

hello everyone. just wanted to share a little trick i figured out.
occasionally i run short on bills, and broadband gets cut off.
lovely thing i found out how to do is, feed my mobile data into my home router.
i do this through laptop. pretty simple.
1: tether phone to computer
2: go into windows network settings.
3: click change adapter settings.
4: highlite your tether and your lan both. hold ctrl and click each of them.
5: right click and "Bridge Connection"
6: plug a lan cable from computer ethernet into line IN on router.
7: Wifi through whole house WITH ports for wired connections.
8: DANCE AND GIGGLE FOR SCREWING THE BIG CORPORATIONS!

quite useful if you have the unlimited lte like i do. i've used over 70 gb in a month before running everything.

if you like this, click thanks please.

Bridge networking has been popular for awhile

Its how i use both my Tether speeds AND my dad's home WiFi 1MB per second download.
3rd March 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 36
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Bridge networking has been popular for awhile

Its how i use both my Tether speeds AND my dad's home WiFi 1MB per second download.

of course it has. but there are always people who haven't heard about it.
i've never seen anything in here about it and it's incredibly useful with T Mo's unlimited 4g.
the lovely thing about the web is we all share. even reshare, to help fellow peeps.

of course, there are also drawbacks too.
for instance, people can be snippy and snide to amuse themselves.
but hey. take the good and the bad, right?
6th March 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks for this! I've heard of bridging, but never understood/never bothered to find out more about it. This could be useful.
6th March 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #5  
Kem-El's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Do they throttle your data speed? (Does it show up as mobile hotspot usage?) With my cable internet, I stream Netflix and Hulu and use about 85-100gb a month. I'd like to get rid of cable if I could just upgrade to the unlimited data plan and use that instead.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
12th March 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 36
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kem-El

Do they throttle your data speed? (Does it show up as mobile hotspot usage?) With my cable internet, I stream Netflix and Hulu and use about 85-100gb a month. I'd like to get rid of cable if I could just upgrade to the unlimited data plan and use that instead.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I have the unlimited 4g. Depending on what Rom and such you run, very easy to tether without them noticing.
6th March 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Is there a way to just bridge my phone to the pc? The router is on the opposite side of the house from my computer.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
12th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 36
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnazary

Is there a way to just bridge my phone to the pc? The router is on the opposite side of the house from my computer.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app

There are some tutorials on how to use Windows laptop as a WiFi router on Google.you can usb tether, perhaps. I bridge phone to router to get much greater distance than phone alone can manage.
14th March 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I thought you had limitations on how much tethering data you could have with the unlimited plan?
23rd March 2014, 08:00 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 36
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregorina

I thought you had limitations on how much tethering data you could have with the unlimited plan?

there are several work arounds and custom roms that will not show up to t-mo. i've been working around their tethering block for years now on all my different phones
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S 4 General by ThreadRank