Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

[Q] HELP with updating HTC One to 4.4...

OP arbank94

2nd March 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you
2nd March 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,171
 
3,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you

You can't apply ota with a custom recovery, you need your stock recovery.
3rd March 2014, 02:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

You can't apply ota with a custom recovery, you need your stock recovery.

So would you recommend getting stock recovery following nkk71's guide in your signature, or should I just flash a 4.4 rom?
3rd March 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,171
 
3,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

So would you recommend getting stock recovery following nkk71's guide in your signature, or should I just flash a 4.4 rom?

Do what cIsA said. Check the output of "fastboot getvar all". Look at your main-ver # and find the corresponding stock recovery. There is a thread in general section with a collection of stock recovery.

You can post the output of getvar here minus imei/sn and we will link you the correct recovery.
3rd March 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Okay so I ran a fastboot getvar all, and apparently there is no RUU for my device, because it is Latin American with a CID of HTC_332. (I searched almost everywhere)

Now, after flashing a 4.4 rom I downloaded, my HTC device wasn't turning on anymore (it was getting stuck at the HTC boot logo). So I restored from a backup I made in TWRP, and that didn't work either. So now my problem just got 1000x worse because of a mistake I just made now of completely wiping my device and the OS.
So for the moment I'll try to flash a new boot.img, get S-OFF again, and change the CID to 11111111 (as I have read) where I will then download a RUU I can use. I'll let you know what happens.
2nd March 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,079
 
3,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you

Depending on whats been done to the phone you can eather flash stock recovery and try the update from their or you have to ruu back to stock and take the update that way.

fastboot getvar all will tell you what stock recovery you need or what ruu to use
3rd March 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 421
 
1,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Whoa there.. No need to flash boot.IMG.

What's you're steps? I think you are about to make it worse

sent from my mobile device
3rd March 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Okay well I'm in a tight situation atm.

My phone is completely wiped, with no OS or anything. The only thing I have access to is fastboot, and the TWRP bootloader. Also considering my phone is wiped, I believe I have S-ON as well.
So what is the first step to just get a boot going? (unless I'm not completely screwed that is..)

EDIT- I have successfully flashed Android Revolution to my phone from TWRP by pushing the zip via adb fastboot. Got my phone running again. Step 1 complete.

Step 2 now is to get S-OFF again...
Step 3- Change my CID to 11111111 using the SuperCID method (there is no RUU for my Latin American CID; HTC_332)
Step 4- Use an appropriate RUU to get 4.4 stock after I have changed my CID.

Before I continue with these steps, can anyone confirm with me if I am on the right path?
Last edited by arbank94; 3rd March 2014 at 11:14 PM.
3rd March 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 421
 
1,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Step 2 - Confirmed.
Step 3 & Step 4 ... What is an appropriate RUU? You have not yet posted a fastboot getvar all output yet. (remove imei)
4th March 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #10  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,171
 
3,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Step 2 - Confirmed.
Step 3 & Step 4 ... What is an appropriate RUU? You have not yet posted a fastboot getvar all output yet. (remove imei)

I had the same cid when I bought mine. Irc, MID was PN0711000 with s.w. X.XX.599.X.

so he could use the 1.29.401.2 ruu on htc1guru but he have to change cid.

---------- Post added at 08:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

EDIT- I have successfully flashed Android Revolution to my phone from TWRP by pushing the zip via adb fastboot. Got my phone running again.


Before I continue with these steps, can anyone confirm with me if I am on the right path?


You could just stay with arhd, its a very good rom...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes