MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

Accidental Wipe; no image to flash. Help please.

3rd March 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #1  
Yehudah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
I'm stupid, I get it.

I just got an Asurion replacement DNA the other day and I wanted to S-Off, Root, Recovery Image, and new KitKat ROM.

So, I was able to use Rumrunner, and that worked out fine.

I rooted my DNA and then loaded TWRP 2.6.3, and that worked fine as well.

My intent was to load GPE and I d/l'd it to my phone (not knowing it was a corrupt download).

So I got into recovery, wiped, wiped, reset, and loaded the ROM - and it puked all over itself.

Now, I have a phone that is in recovery, has no image, and I can't figure out how to put one on it.

I'm running Mint Linux, but I have access to a W7 laptop if I need it.

It's my daily driver, I'm frustrated, upset, and stupid. And I could certainly use some help.

Thanks
3rd March 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #2  
Yehudah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
In a terminal window (thanks .torrent), I typed: adb devices (then sudo adb devices) and got nothing in return.

I've tried sideloading; the ROM loads according to the terminal window, but I don't see anything happening on the phone (no failures though).

I've tried pushing a ROM to the phone but the terminal window says that it doesn't see the device. That doesn't make sense because I can sideload (apparently).

ugh.
3rd March 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #3  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 262
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yehudah

In a terminal window (thanks .torrent), I typed: adb devices (then sudo adb devices) and got nothing in return.

I've tried sideloading; the ROM loads according to the terminal window, but I don't see anything happening on the phone (no failures though).

I've tried pushing a ROM to the phone but the terminal window says that it doesn't see the device. That doesn't make sense because I can sideload (apparently).

ugh.

This question has been answered at least a dozen times, "Help I wiped my internal storage", blah blah blah.

Download the rom you want on your computer. Put it in the same directory as your ADB stuff (mine is C:\android, I don't know what yours is).

Plug phone into computer, make sure you have ADB enabled on your phone, open a command prompt, verify you have ADB working by typing "adb devices"

You should see your device listed.

Boot phone into recovery >advanced >ADB sideload

Follow instructions at top of sideload screen to sideload rom from computer to phone.

In the future a little searching would get you to all this information, rather than starting a new thread...

Enjoy

P.S. ALWAYS verify your MD5 before flashing, and ALWAYS have a backup made to fall back on.
Last edited by sdamark; 3rd March 2014 at 12:49 AM.
3rd March 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #4  
Yehudah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
I know it's been done to death. I searched and read every thread that was like mine and did everything in each thread.

It was the last thing I did that worked. RUU from .torrents links. That worked. I'm still rooted, Next time I'll make sure I have I backup I can restore - won't make this mistake again.

Thanks for the low level chastising, I deserved it. And thanks for the info, ad nauseum.
The Following User Says Thank You to Yehudah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 01:03 PM   |  #5  
Yehudah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Thumbs up
After a two day ordeal, I finally got my DNA back to where it was before I borked it up last week.

Because of what I did; I needed to use Rumrunner to unlock, RUU to get back to where the phone worked, ADB and Fastboot to get the recovery image set up and put a ROM on the phone.

When it was all said and done, .torrent walked me through getting the phone fixed. Without him, I'd still be banging my head against my desk.

Thanks to the developers who created Rumrunner, and who developed the Android tool kits that helped me overcome my stupidity. Because of their ability to create great applications, I've learned more about Linux and how my phone works than I ever did before....just wish it hadn't taken this to cause that.

Thanks to all, you guys ROCK!
5th March 2014, 05:14 AM   |  #6  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
873 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yehudah

After a two day ordeal, I finally got my DNA back to where it was before I borked it up last week.

Because of what I did; I needed to use Rumrunner to unlock, RUU to get back to where the phone worked, ADB and Fastboot to get the recovery image set up and put a ROM on the phone.

When it was all said and done, .torrent walked me through getting the phone fixed. Without him, I'd still be banging my head against my desk.

Thanks to the developers who created Rumrunner, and who developed the Android tool kits that helped me overcome my stupidity. Because of their ability to create great applications, I've learned more about Linux and how my phone works than I ever did before....just wish it hadn't taken this to cause that.

Thanks to all, you guys ROCK!

At least you learned from your mistakes.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes