Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] Will restoring stock firmware alo restore ESN?

OP juryrigger

4th March 2014, 12:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Phone is not rooted, and ESN is zeroed out. Would flashing stock firmware restore the ESN to factory? (Sprint)
Last edited by juryrigger; 4th March 2014 at 12:41 AM.
4th March 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
anyone? please? note that im not talking about IMEI or MEID, those seem to be fine. its just the ESN thats zeroed out.
4th March 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #3  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,662
 
7,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Nope. You're stuck
4th March 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Nope. You're stuck

damn, are you 100% positive?
4th March 2014, 12:15 PM   |  #5  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,662
 
7,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

damn, are you 100% positive?

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?
4th March 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?

its not activated yet
4th March 2014, 02:31 PM   |  #7  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,662
 
7,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

its not activated yet

So when you used Freegee you didn't back up your efs?
4th March 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?


a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?
4th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #9  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,662
 
7,887 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?

which can't be done as far as I know. Happy to admit it if I am wrong.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank