Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Solved] HTC One. GURU Reset and RUU show 3.63.707.4 but installs 3.63.707.3

OP ShishirMittal

4th March 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Indore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
First of all, I have spent 2 weeks searching for the exact RUU for the Stock ROM which came with my HTC One. I have tried installing several RUUs and Guru Resets given at htc1guru and have read allmost every post made by @crushalot. I have also read all the posts made by @smartanks and have asked them the same question I will be elaborating here now. I haven't got any help till date and so I was forced to start a new thread. I also researched this forum any similar threads and got now.

This might help all the HTC One India Users in future.

I bought my HTC One m7_U 7 months ago and installed Google Play Edition Rooted RUU on it provided by htc1guru
I changed my CID and MID to install the RUU on my phone and was happy with the Google play edition of the phone till the day my phone's Microphone stopped working and so did the Compass sensor. I also had the Purple Tint Issue with the Camera so I thought Of giving it back to the customer care for a replacement.

Now I started a search for my native Stock ROM that is for the HTC One WWE indian single sim edition(We in india have a dual sim edition also).
The basic step to revert back to stock was to revert back to the original CID which was HTC__038 and Model ID PN0711000.
When searching for the stock roms, I found three options:

1: Install RUU from htc1guru's collection
which matched the CID and ModelID of India's HTC One models.

2: Reset my phone using htc1guru's collection
which also matched the CID and Model ID.

3: Install Nandroid Backup for CID HTC__038 which is not available nowhere.

Trying First Option:
Since The RUU was available I first tried to Install the RUU and installed it successfully but the Software information In About Phone Showed that I am running 3.63.707.3 instead of 3.63.707.4. And the fastboot getvar mainver showed me 3.63.707.4.
Now the issue was OTA. I installed Stock recovery for the OTA in hopes of installing the recent OTA updating HTC One from 3.63.707.4-4.20.707.7. When I searched for the software updates available it showed me the available update as 4.20.707.6. I anyway started to download it and as soon as the download completed the phone gave me the message "we have determined that your phone may be running a modified version of its system software. For your protection we cannot update your phone.
Please revert your phone to the official HTC system software....."

"Failed"

Trying Second Option:
Now the GURU reset seemed to be the last option for me. But after installing it using ClockworkMod and Aroma Installer, The issue was exactly same like the one in RUU. The Software information in the about phone menu showed 3.63.707.3 and the fastboot getvar mainver showed me 3.63.707.4.

"Failed Again"



So finally I gave up and wrote this thread. Please help me if anyone has any idea about why these RUU's are showing a different firmware.
Last edited by ShishirMittal; 9th March 2014 at 05:41 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ShishirMittal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Flag Indore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Prompt Images might help
The screenshots might help in making the issue more clear.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-04-05-54-26.png
Views:	86
Size:	247.5 KB
ID:	2611892   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	91
Size:	18.2 KB
ID:	2611894  
6th March 2014, 03:24 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShishirMittal

The screenshots might help in making the issue more clear.

i have the same issue, i guess we have to find a firmware zip for 3.63.707.3 to match the software version inside the ROM, have you been able to fix this yet?
6th March 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Indore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Still Searching
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

i have the same issue, i guess we have to find a firmware zip for 3.63.707.3 to match the software version inside the ROM, have you been able to fix this yet?

Not yet! Its been a month now that I have been looking for a solution. No one has responded to this yet!
What do you mean by the firmware zip for 3.63.707.3?
Please elaborate?
6th March 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShishirMittal

Not yet! Its been a month now that I have been looking for a solution. No one has responded to this yet!
What do you mean by the firmware zip for 3.63.707.3?
Please elaborate?

i found a solution .i downgraded my hboot and then i ran this RUU http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...decrypted-zip/ and now i'm receiving OTA updates like i'm supposed to , you may not have to downgrade hboot but just to be safe, i downgraded it to 1.44, after that i ran this RUU , rebooted and received OTAs , make sure you have indian CID HTC__038 and MID PN0711000, hope this helps
EDIT: please note that this RUU will downgrade your phone to 4.1.2 with sense 5, and software number 1.29.707.4, but after running this RUU you'll receive OTA's like normal, i just upgraded to 4.2.2 without a problem and tomorrow i'll update to 4.3 with Sense 5.5
6th March 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Indore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

i found a solution .i downgraded my hboot and then i ran this RUU http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu-zip-...decrypted-zip/ and now i'm receiving OTA updates like i'm supposed to , you may not have to downgrade hboot but just to be safe, i downgraded it to 1.44, after that i ran this RUU , rebooted and received OTAs , make sure you have indian CID HTC__038 and MID PN0711000, hope this helps
EDIT: please note that this RUU will downgrade your phone to 4.1.2 with sense 5, and software number 1.29.707.4, but after running this RUU you'll receive OTA's like normal, i just upgraded to 4.2.2 without a problem and tomorrow i'll update to 4.3 with Sense 5.5

You are from India Right?

So If I Install this RUU with software number 1.29.707.4, I will get the OTA for 4.2.2 right? Now what is the software number of yours after you installed the OTA?
And will this 4.2.2 update your phone into 4.3 with Software Number 3.63.707.4?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes