Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

unzip has 350MB of background data (?!)

OP timonoj

4th March 2014, 01:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Hi guys,

This morning I just found out that unzip is taking 354MB of data just for itself. I never use this app, I just have it installed in case other apps use it as a library (ES file explorer, TB and similar?). Anyone knows what might have caused this crazy usage?
4th March 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #2  
deandoi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by timonoj

Hi guys,

This morning I just found out that unzip is taking 354MB of data just for itself. I never use this app, I just have it installed in case other apps use it as a library (ES file explorer, TB and similar?). Anyone knows what might have caused this crazy usage?

Cache
4th March 2014, 03:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deandoi

Cache

...could you ellaborate? Not sure if this means the cache of the device is too large, it's intending to keep some sort of cache for another app (which one?), or something else I don't get.
The unzip app has 0B of cache and 0B of data on storage.
4th March 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #4  
deandoi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by timonoj

...could you ellaborate? Not sure if this means the cache of the device is too large, it's intending to keep some sort of cache for another app (which one?), or something else I don't get.
The unzip app has 0B of cache and 0B of data on storage.

maybe it's storing data from previously extracted files. check you file explorer for the folder of the app.
The Following User Says Thank You to deandoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deandoi

maybe it's storing data from previously extracted files. check you file explorer for the folder of the app.

Damn. Now I understand. It's my fault due to a very poor explanation (noticed the issue early in the morning, didn't even have breakfast back then). I shoiuld have said 354MB of mobile data, either sent or downloaded.
4th March 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #6  
deandoi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by timonoj

Damn. Now I understand. It's my fault due to a very poor explanation (noticed the issue early in the morning, didn't even have breakfast back then). I shoiuld have said 354MB of mobile data, either sent or downloaded.

you can restrict background data on certain apps.

cheers ~
The Following User Says Thank You to deandoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank