FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi guys, I will try and explain this as simple as possible.

I as trying to install cyanogenmod 11 on my phone, and everything seemed to go alright until I made a mistake. I used TWRP to first backup my stock rom on the phone, and then when I was supposed to reboot into the app, I accidently rebooted the phone.

Now the problem is that the phone does not have any OS installed, so what is happening is that it's trying to boot into an OS that's not there, and instead ends up being stuck on the Samsung logo. I can enter Odin mode just fine, but for the love of god I cannot seem to figure how to get back into the TWRP application, or if it is even possible.

I do have the backup of the ROM stored on my SD card, and I've now moved it over to my PC, but it still does not seem to help me in any way. I've trid to launch the Odin3 program on my pc, in an attempt to to try and launch in TWRP through that, but it has all been without any success, so now I come to this board of guinesses, asking for help!

As an added bit of information, this was my first time trying to install a custom rom, so yeah.. Puff..

- The lost Dane.

- Edit -

I tried to "flash" by doing what this link said, in the hopes that my phone would boot into the program, but alas, it only booted back to the logan saying "samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005" :/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=30694404

-- Edit Edit --

To make it super clear ... If I could get back into TWRP, I would be able to run my backup. I know how that app works, I just simply cannot get back into, and I do not know if it is even possible. I've searched and tried various guides to "flash TWRP through Odin" but it has all been without any success... :/
Last edited by Thaelern; 4th March 2014 at 11:52 PM. Reason: Added more context
The Following User Says Thank You to Thaelern For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 11:58 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaelern

Hi guys, I will try and explain this as simple as possible.

I as trying to install cyanogenmod 11 on my phone, and everything seemed to go alright until I made a mistake. I used TWRP to first backup my stock rom on the phone, and then when I was supposed to reboot into the app, I accidently rebooted the phone.

Now the problem is that the phone does not have any OS installed, so what is happening is that it's trying to boot into an OS that's not there, and instead ends up being stuck on the Samsung logo. I can enter Odin mode just fine, but for the love of god I cannot seem to figure how to get back into the TWRP application, or if it is even possible.

I do have the backup of the ROM stored on my SD card, and I've now moved it over to my PC, but it still does not seem to help me in any way. I've trid to launch the Odin3 program on my pc, in an attempt to to try and launch in TWRP through that, but it has all been without any success, so now I come to this board of guinesses, asking for help!

As an added bit of information, this was my first time trying to install a custom rom, so yeah.. Puff..

- The lost Dane.

- Edit -

I tried to "flash" by doing what this link said, in the hopes that my phone would boot into the program, but alas, it only booted back to the logan saying "samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005" :/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=30694404

-- Edit Edit --

To make it super clear ... If I could get back into TWRP, I would be able to run my backup. I know how that app works, I just simply cannot get back into, and I do not know if it is even possible. I've searched and tried various guides to "flash TWRP through Odin" but it has all been without any success... :/

Did you hold volume up+home+power button to get into recovery mode?
In case your twrp get corrupted due to flashing failure previously
1. Download twrp from the following. 2.6.3.7 if you were running 4.3 or 2.6.3.8 if you were running 4.4.2(not sure if 2
6.3.8 is 4.3 compatible). For odin flashable use the one with .tar
http://www.techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/hlte
2. Get into download mode(vol down+home+power)
3. Link the downloaded .tar to pda in odin. Odin log should show 'added' once you connect phone to pc
4. Start the process. Once finish phone should boot into recovery automatically but it'll try to boot back into OS. Just hold vol up+home+power button to get back into recovery
Last edited by Rosli59564; 5th March 2014 at 12:21 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rosli59564 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 12:08 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosli59564

Did you hold volume up+home+power button to get into recovery mode?


When I do that, I get an ultra short blue text appearing on the screen, before it goes into downloading mode, with a red text saying "Could not do normal boot." So it basically goes right into odin mode.
5th March 2014, 12:23 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaelern

When I do that, I get an ultra short blue text appearing on the screen, before it goes into downloading mode, with a red text saying "Could not do normal boot." So it basically goes right into odin mode.

I edited my post. You need to reflash twrp
5th March 2014, 12:34 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
You are an absolute god. I wish I could show my appreciation, but I fear words isn't even enough to even begin.. I managed to get into TWRP now, though my backup rom doesn't show up anymore, but I suppose that's because I run a different version of TWRP than I did first? Idk, but really appreciate that you were able to get me back into TWRP.
The Following User Says Thank You to Thaelern For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 12:44 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaelern

You are an absolute god. I wish I could show my appreciation, but I fear words isn't even enough to even begin.. I managed to get into TWRP now, though my backup rom doesn't show up anymore, but I suppose that's because I run a different version of TWRP than I did first? Idk, but really appreciate that you were able to get me back into TWRP.

Yes if you know your previous twrp version than you can restore your old rom backup

---------- Post added at 08:44 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:40 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaelern

You are an absolute god. I wish I could show my appreciation, but I fear words isn't even enough to even begin.. I managed to get into TWRP now, though my backup rom doesn't show up anymore, but I suppose that's because I run a different version of TWRP than I did first? Idk, but really appreciate that you were able to get me back into TWRP.

Right you need your previous twrp version to use the backup

Hehe you can actually press the thanks button
The Following User Says Thank You to Rosli59564 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes