Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

The History of Flagships: Part I – Sony

Every OEM aspiring to conquer the mobile world undoubtedly releases its take on the so-called … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck on boot after KK update

OP Shott3r

5th March 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #1  
Shott3r's Avatar
OP Member
San Jose
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
This is for my friend's ATT One. Bone stock, unrooted, S-On, no changes made to the device from the store. He took the OTA for Kit Kat and was running fine, then his phone rebooted on him a couple days later and won't go past the white HTC boot screen.

Two problems: First, I cannot use ADB, as it does not detect his phone. When I plug in his phone, it says drivers failed to install for HTC MTP device. I also have an HTC One, unlocked, S-Off, etc., and when I plug mine in, it's detected and ADB works just fine like always (so it's not that I need to reinstall drivers).
Problem 2: the phone seems to hang trying to do a factory reset from the bootloader menu, or from the stock recovery menu. It will start the reset, reboot to the white HTC screen then hang. I left it for more than an hour twice. Nothing doing.

Is there a way to reflash/restore his phone without wiping his sdcard? He's OK losing the data partition, but wiping sdcard is last resort. Using an RUU .exe will wipe his sdcard, as will unlocking his bootloader to try to install a custom recovery. Just not really sure what tools I have at my disposal with a stock recovery and no adb. Will fastboot flashing a rom.zip extracted from the ATT RUU also wipe his sdcard? Or does that only happen with the RUU .exe? Any ideas appreciated..
5th March 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,394
 
3,603 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

This is for my friend's ATT One. Bone stock, unrooted, S-On, no changes made to the device from the store. He took the OTA for Kit Kat and was running fine, then his phone rebooted on him a couple days later and won't go past the white HTC boot screen.

Did you tried wiping /cache?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

Two problems: First, I cannot use ADB, as it does not detect his phone.

ADB can only be used when phone is booted+usb debug on or via custom recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

He's OK losing the data partition

I hope so, factory reset is a /data wipe... probably already wiped from your first attempt to factory reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

but wiping sdcard is last resort. Using an RUU .exe will wipe his sdcard

And the available ruu.exe for at&t is a downgrade in version so it will require s-off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

Will fastboot flashing a rom.zip extracted from the ATT RUU also wipe his sdcard? Or does that only happen with the RUU .exe? Any ideas appreciated..

you can't flash a rom directly from fastboot. You can flash a rom via a custom recovery or flash a ruu.zip from RUUmode (fastboot oem rebootRUU).

Unfortunately I think there is no way to save /sdcard. You will need to unlock bootloader to flash a custom recovery.

easy way:
  1. flash twrp custom recovery
  2. flash guru reset rom for your version

or
  1. flash twrp custom recovery
  2. flash and use arhd rom

or the long way:
  1. flash twrp
  2. flash arhd
  3. s-off
  4. flash ruu.zip
Last edited by alray; 5th March 2014 at 09:11 PM.
5th March 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #3  
Shott3r's Avatar
OP Member
San Jose
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

Did you tried wiping /cache?

...


you can't flash a rom directly from fastboot. You can flash a rom via a custom recovery or flash a ruu.zip from RUUmode (fastboot oem rebootRUU).

Unfortunately I think there is no way to save /sdcard. You will need to unlock bootloader to flash a custom recovery.

...

I did erase cache first thing. Regarding flashing the ruu.zip from RUUmode, my question is whether flashing the ruu.zip will erase the sdcard? Also does it even matter, since he has KK firmware, and is S-On? Will the ruu.zip from Jellybean 4.3 even flash on his (current) KK firmware?

Any ideas on why the factory reset would hang? Cuz that's best case scenario is to simply factory reset, but it seems not to work presently.
5th March 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,394
 
3,603 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

I did erase cache first thing. Regarding flashing the ruu.zip from RUUmode, my question is whether flashing the ruu.zip will erase the sdcard? Also does it even matter, since he has KK firmware, and is S-On? Will the ruu.zip from Jellybean 4.3 even flash on his (current) KK firmware?

Any ideas on why the factory reset would hang? Cuz that's best case scenario is to simply factory reset, but it seems not to work presently.

ruu will wipe everything.

and no you can't use ruu with s-on because its a downgrade in version.
5th March 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #5  
Shott3r's Avatar
OP Member
San Jose
Thanks Meter: 7
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Is there any way that you know of to get access to the sdcard in the circumstance I've described to try to rescue some files before I set about with the rescue? Doubt it, but just asking.
6th March 2014, 12:42 AM   |  #6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,394
 
3,603 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shott3r

Is there any way that you know of to get access to the sdcard in the circumstance I've described to try to rescue some files before I set about with the rescue? Doubt it, but just asking.

maybe you could use remote recovery booting (booting a custom recovery without installing it). Not sure if it still can be done (think it was disabled in 4.2.2)

fastboot boot name_of_recovery.img

then use adb from recovery to copy sdcard content to your computer

adb pull /sdcard C:\somefolder

If you can't boot from a remote recovery, then I think you can say goodbye to those files in your /sdcard
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, att, brick, fastboot
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes