NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Just bought a rooted HTC One and have a few questions

OP mpetruzz

6th March 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #1  
mpetruzz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
What's up everyone. I had a stock One but needed to get my crackflash on so I bought a rooted One online.

So here are my questions 1) how can I tell what recovery is installed 2) how can i tell if the bootloader is unlocked?

And before you ask, I bought it third party so I wasn't able to get the info from the seller.

Thanks
6th March 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #2  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Boot to hboot to see if the bootloader is unlocked. With the phone off hold vol down and power at the same time, untill a white screen appears (hboot). It will say at the top either locked, unlocked, or relocked. Then from hboot scroll down to recovery and select it with the power button. Once in recovery it wil say at the top which one it is and what version.
6th March 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #3  
mpetruzz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks so much! Any suggestion on which recovery to use? I've read pros and con's of each. I'll prolly flash Vipers ROM.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
6th March 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #4  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
I prefer TWRP. It has a nicer ui, and it backs up and restores a good 3 to 4 times faster than cwm.
6th March 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #5  
mpetruzz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
That's what I'm used to. Can I just flash it in recovery or would I need to adb it over? I think the last time I had a rooted phone I flashed twrp via ROM manager

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
6th March 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #6  
Crawshayi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 288
 
977 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpetruzz

That's what I'm used to. Can I just flash it in recovery or would I need to adb it over? I think the last time I had a rooted phone I flashed twrp via ROM manager

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Best way to flash TWRP is via fastboot. Follow instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2416431
6th March 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #7  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
You could also use Root Recovery Tools - Flasher from the market as well. If you have a usb-otg adapter you can also flash it thru hboot as a PN07IMG.zip. And you can also flash it thru fastboot RUU mode.
6th March 2014, 06:01 AM   |  #8  
Crawshayi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 288
 
977 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Don't mean to hijack the thread but I had a quick question- what's the difference between doing an RUU and just flashing the stock OTA rom?
6th March 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #9  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
An ota updates not only the rom, but also all the other system images (bootloader, radio, recovery, and many other behind the scenes partitions.) Also obviously the ruu will not be pre rooted like the rom.
7th March 2014, 12:22 AM   |  #10  
mpetruzz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Got the phone today and the bootloader is unlocked. It has Clockwork installed. Its not the latest, any real reason to upgrade it?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes