Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,741 Members 46,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

no route by dhcp - flock dhcpcd-wlan0.pid

Tip us?
 
41.kretschi
Old
(Last edited by 41.kretschi; 6th March 2014 at 11:39 AM.)
#1  
41.kretschi's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default no route by dhcp - flock dhcpcd-wlan0.pid

Hi guys,
I have a problem with my wifi connection:
it's connecting and receiving the ip address by dhcp but no route is beeing set. It happens with different routers and wifi networks, so its not a router problem. also with my notebook I can connect to it regularly and everything works fine.
On my phone I have to set the route by hand afterwards - it's the only fix I found so far.
I do it by redoing the dhcp process and I have to do it twice. I don't really understand the problem dhcpcd has the first time but maybe that's the problem why no route is being set in the first place.

Code:
Select Code
root@serranolte:/ # dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd[12685]: flock `/data/misc/dhcp/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid': Try again
1|root@serranolte:/ # dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd[12706]: version 5.5.6 starting
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: rebinding lease of 10.126.49.136
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: NAK: requested address not available from 1.1.1.1
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: offered 10.126.49.97 from 1.1.1.1
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: acknowledged 10.126.49.97 from 1.1.1.1dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: checking for 10.126.49.97
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: leased 10.126.49.97 for 14400 seconds
dhcpcd[12706]: forked to background, child pid 12749
root@serranolte:/ #
I also took a look at the dhcpcd.conf and the hooks files. the properties are not being set. is this an issue? maybe you guys know how to fix this.

Code:
Select Code
root@serranolte:/ # getprop | grep dhcp
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.domain]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.gateway]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.ipaddress]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.leasetime]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.mask]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.mtu]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.pid]: [30155]
[dhcp.wlan0.reason]: [BOUND]
[dhcp.wlan0.result]: [ok]
[dhcp.wlan0.server]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.vendorInfo]: []
[init.svc.dhcpcd_wlan0]: [running]
root@serranolte:/ #
I don't know if this is an CM issue? I didn't have problems with other devices running CM connecting to the same AP at the same location.
I already read a lot about similar problems at other phones but nobody ever had a fix for it.
Is it a radio problem or maybe a kernel issue?

I hope this is the right forum for it.

I'm running the latest CM11 nightly on a Samsung Galaxy S4 mini LTE (GT-I9195)
The problem also occurred with the stable builds of cm10.2 and cm10.1

any help will be appreciated

Thanks and cheers 41


Gesendet von meinem GT-I9195 mit Tapatalk
 
41.kretschi
Old
(Last edited by 41.kretschi; 18th March 2014 at 06:12 PM.)
#2  
41.kretschi's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2014
delete
 
htto
Old
(Last edited by htto; 15th March 2014 at 09:34 AM.)
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 78
Join Date: Feb 2014
First of all: hi

Second: The props should get set

"
root@mb526:/ # getprop | grep dhcp
[dhcp.wlan0.dns1]: [a.b.c.d]
[dhcp.wlan0.dns2]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns3]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.dns4]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.domain]: [lan]
[dhcp.wlan0.gateway]: [a.b.c.d]
[dhcp.wlan0.ipaddress]: [a.b.c.e]
[dhcp.wlan0.leasetime]: [43200]
[dhcp.wlan0.mask]: [255.255.255.0]
[dhcp.wlan0.mtu]: []
[dhcp.wlan0.pid]: [12193]
[dhcp.wlan0.reason]: [REBOOT]
[dhcp.wlan0.result]: [ok]
[dhcp.wlan0.server]: [a.b.c.d]
[dhcp.wlan0.vendorInfo]: []
[init.svc.dhcpcd_wlan0]: [running]
"
with a.b.c.d being the AP/router and a.b.c.e the phone/client

Interestingly your [....result] prop is [ok]. Anyway, the [...reason] says bound (and your pid file is still there), so do more than one instance of dhcpd run in conflict? Also
"
dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: NAK: requested address not available from 1.1.1.1
"
looks suspicious. Address collision with another client?

Local dhcpcd.conf reads

"
interface wlan0
option subnet_mask, routers, domain_name_servers
"


EDIT

Ok, forget about the [ok] and [BOUND] stuff...
You could run
"
dhcpcd -B -d wlan0
"

which stops dhcpcd from going background (-B) and should print debug info (-d). dhcpcd defaults to syslog which I don't know how to retrieve, hence no info in logcat either.
The Following User Says Thank You to htto For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
41.kretschi
Old
#4  
41.kretschi's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2014
Thank you!
Actually I found out that it only happens when I use a wifi network with 802.1x security. Standard WPA2 works fine.

It happens with some phones and works fine with some other phones.

Is this a kernel issue?

I'll try the debug next week when I'm back at the 802 network. Will report back then.

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9195 mit Tapatalk
 
htto
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 78
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by 41.kretschi View Post
Thank you!
Actually I found out that it only happens when I use a wifi network with 802.1x security. Standard WPA2 works fine.

It happens with some phones and works fine with some other phones.

Is this a kernel issue?

I'll try the debug next week when I'm back at the 802 network. Will report back then.

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9195 mit Tapatalk
Phew, could have several reasons, but does the dhcp server by chance do MAC based client setup? Though it could also be a phone issue, but the
"dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: NAK: requested address not available from 1.1.1.1"
makes me think it's a server issue. I guess
"dhcpcd -B -d wlan0"
could provide some useful insights.
The Following User Says Thank You to htto For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
41.kretschi
Old
#6  
41.kretschi's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by htto View Post
Phew, could have several reasons, but does the dhcp server by chance do MAC based client setup? Though it could also be a phone issue, but the
"dhcpcd[12706]: wlan0: NAK: requested address not available from 1.1.1.1"
makes me think it's a server issue. I guess
"dhcpcd -B -d wlan0"
could provide some useful insights.
Code:
Select Code
1|root@serranolte:/data # dhcpcd -B -d wlan0
dhcpcd[12468]: flock `/data/misc/dhcp/dhcpcd-wlan0.pid': Try again
1|root@serranolte:/data # dhcpcd -B -d wlan0
dhcpcd[12472]: version 5.5.6 starting
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: using hwaddr c8:14:79:cb:f4:ec
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: executing `/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason PREINIT
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: executing `/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason CARRIER
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: reading lease `/data/misc/dhcp/dhcpcd-wlan0.lease'
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: rebinding lease of 10.126.51.101
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending REQUEST (xid 0xe082c143), next in 4.33 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: NAK: requested address not available from 1.1.1.1
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: executing `/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason NAK
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending DISCOVER (xid 0x1fa99d89), next in 3.87 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending DISCOVER (xid 0x1fa99d89), next in 8.67 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: offered 10.126.49.192 from 1.1.1.1
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending REQUEST (xid 0x1fa99d89), next in 4.52 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: acknowledged 10.126.49.192 from 1.1.1.1
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: checking for 10.126.49.192
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending ARP probe (1 of 3), next in 1.44 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending ARP probe (2 of 3), next in 1.05 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending ARP probe (3 of 3), next in 2.00 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: leased 10.126.49.192 for 14400 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding IP address 10.126.49.192/22
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding route to 10.126.48.0/22
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding default route via 10.126.48.250
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: writing lease `/data/misc/dhcp/dhcpcd-wlan0.lease'
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: executing `/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason BOUND
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending ARP announce (1 of 2), next in 2.00 seconds
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: sending ARP announce (2 of 2)
I can't see anything from that. Can you? Any ideas?

When I turn off Wifi at the phone and turn it on again, the same game starts over again.
 
htto
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 78
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by 41.kretschi View Post
Code:
Select Code
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding IP address 10.126.49.192/22
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding route to 10.126.48.0/22
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: adding default route via 10.126.48.250
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: writing lease `/data/misc/dhcp/dhcpcd-wlan0.lease'
dhcpcd[12472]: wlan0: executing `/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason BOUND
I can't see anything from that. Can you? Any ideas?

When I turn off Wifi at the phone and turn it on again, the same game starts over again.
Umm... that looks like it gets a route(r) and also sets the default gateway? That is a failure log? If so, what would be the supposed gateway? And the run-hooks with reason BOUND should set the properties you were missing in your first post. I'm a bit puzzled...
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more