Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Help] S4 Screen Flickers When the Phone is cold?

OP iamjerry123

8th March 2014, 02:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hey friendly members of XDA,

My phone started to flicker recently and I could not figure out why it does this...
http://youtu.be/uhSOd6tlVgw

I did not have any water damage or physical damage to my phone but it started doing this randomly. When my phone gets colder, the screen starts to flicker, then half of the screen flickers with a yellow hue, then after a while the screen will be yellow. Also, while the phone is cold, the screen will not turn on. (I failed to show this in the video). Is there something I can do to fix this?

When I warm my phone up with my hands, the flickering goes away and everything goes back to normal.


Thank you,
Jerry
8th March 2014, 07:31 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Please help. This has been an ongoing issue.
8th March 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Newark
Thanks Meter: 155
 
426 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamjerry123

Please help. This has been an ongoing issue.

More info...rooted? Using ROM w/mdk boot loader?using ROM w/safestrap?if stock which firmware are you using?all these things will give people more info to help you with the problem...and all these variables can all have their own quirks and problems...give a little more info and I'm sure someone here will be able to help
8th March 2014, 08:01 AM   |  #4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
3,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Sounds like a graphical blobs problem but I don't how internal temperature could affect that.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th March 2014, 08:52 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

Sounds like a graphical blobs problem but I don't how internal temperature could affect that.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


What should I do? My phone is still under warranty. Should I send it in?
9th March 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Since your phone is still under warranty, you'd better send it to Samsung after-sales department for checking. Maybe it is free!
9th March 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #7  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
3,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamjerry123

What should I do? My phone is still under warranty. Should I send it in?

It's up to you but I probably would. If something physical is affecting your phone then there's some type of hardware issue with your phone. Unfortunately xda can only help with software.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th March 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

It's up to you but I probably would. If something physical is affecting your phone then there's some type of hardware issue with your phone. Unfortunately xda can only help with software.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

If I plan to ship it back, I have to revert it back to stock right? Or is there another procedure?
9th March 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #9  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,110
 
3,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamjerry123

If I plan to ship it back, I have to revert it back to stock right? Or is there another procedure?

You can use one of the Odin files for your phone, there on here . If you're sending it in just grab the mj7 or mk2 one and your good

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes