5,815,133 Members 38,520 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] N9005 and how to make LTE working

Tip us?
 
wwwojciech
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2011
Angry [Q] N9005 and how to make LTE working

Dear All,

I have bought a Note 3 in USA with serial number as follows: N9005GSMH and FCC:A3LSMN9005.
I have a problem because I don't know how to make LTE working. I'm using this smartphone in Poland, in settings I can't see option which allows to switch to LTE band. I have good LTE network coverage in my city but I haven't possibility to switch radio to LTE.
This is new phone so it is not rooted, two weeks ago new official update was made from JB to KK.

Can anybody advice how make LTE option visible in network settings?

I have found somewhere on this forum that after making some changes in configuration file in system directory LTE option appear in settings. But maybe it can be done without rooting?

Best Regards
Wojciech
 
ultramag69
Old
#2  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 577
Posts: 4,459
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwwojciech View Post
Dear All,

I have bought a Note 3 in USA with serial number as follows: N9005GSMH and FCC:A3LSMN9005.
I have a problem because I don't know how to make LTE working. I'm using this smartphone in Poland, in settings I can't see option which allows to switch to LTE band. I have good LTE network coverage in my city but I haven't possibility to switch radio to LTE.
This is new phone so it is not rooted, two weeks ago new official update was made from JB to KK.

Can anybody advice how make LTE option visible in network settings?

I have found somewhere on this forum that after making some changes in configuration file in system directory LTE option appear in settings. But maybe it can be done without rooting?

Best Regards
Wojciech
As you bought from America you need to be aware that some of the 4G/LTE bands are different and won't work overseas... If this is the case you might not be able to get the right bands thus all you will get is 3G speeds....
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
The Following User Says Thank You to ultramag69 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wwwojciech
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69 View Post
As you bought from America you need to be aware that some of the 4G/LTE bands are different and won't work overseas... If this is the case you might not be able to get the right bands thus all you will get is 3G speeds....
Thank you for your answer. I have found that N9005 is LTE enabled and it supports some of LTE bands in my country.
N9005 supports LTE 2100/1800/850/1600/800Mhz(Band1,3,5,7,20).
 
ultramag69
Old
#4  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 577
Posts: 4,459
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwwojciech View Post
Thank you for your answer. I have found that N9005 is LTE enabled and it supports some of LTE bands in my country.
N9005 supports LTE 2100/1800/850/1600/800Mhz(Band1,3,5,7,20).
This is what you need to know - The LTE standard covers a range of many different bands, each of which is designated by both a frequency and a band number. In North America, 700, 800, 1900, 1700/2100 (AWS) and 2600 MHz (Rogers Communications, Bell Canada) are used (bands 4, 7, 12, 13, 17, 25); 800, 900, 1800, 2600 MHz in Europe(bands 3, 7, 20); 1800 and 2600.
There is a difference...
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
 
seeinthelight
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Lte Bands for Bell mobility

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69 View Post
This is what you need to know - The LTE standard covers a range of many different bands, each of which is designated by both a frequency and a band number. In North America, 700, 800, 1900, 1700/2100 (AWS) and 2600 MHz (Rogers Communications, Bell Canada) are used (bands 4, 7, 12, 13, 17, 25); 800, 900, 1800, 2600 MHz in Europe(bands 3, 7, 20); 1800 and 2600.
There is a difference...
It looks like you might have some information I need, I see you know which bands Bell mobility uses in Canada, here is my question.

I have an unbranded Note 3: sm-n9005 (bought in Russia), and I would like to know if there is a way to change the bands being used by the phone so that I can program the correct bands and use the LTE network with Bell Mobility.

I am currently with Bell Mobility and the following info is from my note 3

Version

AP : N9005XXUENB3

CP : N9005XXUENB1

CSC : N9005SERENB2

Baseband Version : N9005XXUENB1

Build Number : KOT49H.N9005XXUENB3
 
ultramag69
Old
#6  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 577
Posts: 4,459
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeinthelight View Post
It looks like you might have some information I need, I see you know which bands Bell mobility uses in Canada, here is my question.

I have an unbranded Note 3: sm-n9005 (bought in Russia), and I would like to know if there is a way to change the bands being used by the phone so that I can program the correct bands and use the LTE network with Bell Mobility.

I am currently with Bell Mobility and the following info is from my note 3

Version

AP : N9005XXUENB3

CP : N9005XXUENB1

CSC : N9005SERENB2

Baseband Version : N9005XXUENB1

Build Number : KOT49H.N9005XXUENB3
It seems a lot of people are asking this, It should be as simple as flashing your regions modem but this doesn't seem to be the case...
As I have never needed to do this I unfortunately don't have an answer...
This is an expensive little toy and I don't want to be responsible for screwing up yours.
If I was going to try then I'd try to flash the GSM and LTE modems. Flashing only one might cause a conflict, however this may also render your phone unusable...
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
Tags
lte, note 3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more