Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Soft Brick after failed 4.3 OTA

OP captaincado

17th March 2014, 02:46 AM   |  #1  
captaincado's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I've been running 4.2.2, rooted, SafeStrap'd and SuperSU. Today, I went back to stock ROM (I switch back and forth, between stock and Hyperdrive), I forgot I had rebooted during a forced update for 4.3. Well, update finished downloading, and automatically went to install, of course, with my phone, it always fails @ 29-30%. Phone went to start back up, went thru the SafeStrap and stayed at the AT&T logo. Pulled battery and went to SS, and activated Slot 2 (Hyperdrive). Phone just boot looped thru the SS and then shut off and so on and so forth. So I tried to do a factory reset, and that failed. So I tried to restore backup, in SS and that failed. I'm thinking that even though the 4.3 update failed, it somehow put enough of info, into the bootloader, to change it to a 4.3. I'm going to try to ABD MF3, then MI2 and if that fails, ML2.
Just wanted to give you a heads up....seems AT&T is hellbent on pushing this locked down update through.

Sent Via Smoke Signals
17th March 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #2  
skulls13's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
wow
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincado

I've been running 4.2.2, rooted, SafeStrap'd and SuperSU. Today, I went back to stock ROM (I switch back and forth, between stock and Hyperdrive), I forgot I had rebooted during a forced update for 4.3. Well, update finished downloading, and automatically went to install, of course, with my phone, it always fails @ 29-30%. Phone went to start back up, went thru the SafeStrap and stayed at the AT&T logo. Pulled battery and went to SS, and activated Slot 2 (Hyperdrive). Phone just boot looped thru the SS and then shut off and so on and so forth. So I tried to do a factory reset, and that failed. So I tried to restore backup, in SS and that failed. I'm thinking that even though the 4.3 update failed, it somehow put enough of info, into the bootloader, to change it to a 4.3. I'm going to try to ABD MF3, then MI2 and if that fails, ML2.
Just wanted to give you a heads up....seems AT&T is hellbent on pushing this locked down update through.

Sent Via Smoke Signals

did you get a fix.att is being a real pain in the ars
18th March 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #3  
captaincado's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Not yet....won't be near a computer until Saturday.

Sent Via Smoke Signals
18th March 2014, 03:03 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Guatemala
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincado

Not yet....won't be near a computer until Saturday.

Sent Via Smoke Signals

download the odin files but for any reason install the bootloader so you can probably go back to MF1 if everything fails.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alphabeast For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Washington, D.C.
Thanks Meter: 395
 
1,164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphabeast

download the odin files but for any reason install the bootloader so you can probably go back to MF1 if everything fails.

To clarify he's saying DO NOT flash the ML2 bootloader so that you'll have the option to downgrade later.
18th March 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #6  
captaincado's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
The closest I want to get to ML2 is to use most of ML2's files, but use MI2's boot loader.

Sent Via Smoke Signals
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes