Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] SIM Card Not Recognized after Install

OP ForgottenSolstace

17th March 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Similar to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2375050 (except I made an efs backup), my SIM card is no longer recognized. Backed up everything using default Clockwork Mod recovery settings 6.0.3 on Wind T889v.

I installed roms in this order:
  1. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2675066
  2. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2488986

Of course, I noticed the SIM card was no longer being recognized upon installing Slim

In the past GT-N700 ROMs for T0LTE have worked fine. I was running BeanStalk 4.4.2 W0etweaks with working phone and sim card. The issue occured when installing.

As if my phone had not detected a SIM card, phone number, IMIE SV, and IMIE show up as "uknown".

I am not too sure how to proceed? Ideas?
18th March 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #2  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 474
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
I've had similar issues with some versions of TWRP where flashing an Omni 4.4 nightly would leave me with no signal and an unknown IMEI. Flashing the very same ROM with CWM would work. (Odd, I know.)

FWIW I just flashed the latest t0lte Omni nightly with TWRP t0lte 2.7.0.0 earlier today and everything's been fine.

Another thing to look into is SELinux and making sure it is set to permissive.
18th March 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkshado

I've had similar issues with some versions of TWRP where flashing an Omni 4.4 nightly would leave me with no signal and an unknown IMEI. Flashing the very same ROM with CWM would work. (Odd, I know.)

FWIW I just flashed the latest t0lte Omni nightly with TWRP t0lte 2.7.0.0 earlier today and everything's been fine.

Another thing to look into is SELinux and making sure it is set to permissive.

Tried with CWM 6.0.3 with no luck. Tried with Phiz Touch 6.07.9-t0lte, and no luck as well. I will try TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0 shortly. Which version of CWM did you get it to work with?

Tried setting SELinux to permissive via https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mrbimc.selinux, but it made no difference. Am I supposed to do something after I set it to permissive?
19th March 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
TWRP 2.6.0 Will Not Work
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace

Tried with CWM 6.0.3 with no luck. Tried with Phiz Touch 6.07.9-t0lte, and no luck as well. I will try TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0 shortly. Which version of CWM did you get it to work with?

Tried setting SELinux to permissive via https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mrbimc.selinux, but it made no difference. Am I supposed to do something after I set it to permissive?

I was not able to install TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0, but I was able to install TWRP t0lte 2.6.0. And the installation, along with any other 4.4 ROM fails with the following error:

Code:
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E: Error executing updater binary in zip '/external...
Error flashing zip 'external_sdcard/omni-4.4.2..
I will try other ROMs with CWM 6.0.3 and Philz TouchWiz. Hopefully, I will figure something out...
19th March 2014, 12:07 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Could this be the same problem?
Hmm... I've been troubleshooting different ROMs with no luck. But could this be the solution? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1970338
19th March 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Smile Fixed My Phone!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace

Hmm... I've been troubleshooting different ROMs with no luck. But could this be the solution? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1970338

Indeed, I had to flash my modem. For users like me, of the T889V, download the modem from http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889 and flash the file using the recovery of your choice (I used TeamWin 2.7.0). Note that you will need to install openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-t0lte.zip (and not the can version openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-t0ltecan.zip, as that version will not install). You can flash your modem at any time, and it will not affect your current ROM. You don't need to clear dalvik cache, cache, or do a factory reset; just flash the modem file.

This problem occurs because you try to install a ROM that's not for your phone. So in my case, OmniRom included a modem not for my version (international). Because the modem is normally not included in ROM packages, it doesn't matter which ROM you install. To get back to a working state, you need to flash your original modem.

Hopefully this helps someone.
20th March 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #7  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 803
 
2,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
You could try to Odin back to your device's stock rom. Which ever version is appropriate for your bootloader.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
22nd March 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

You could try to Odin back to your device's stock rom. Which ever version is appropriate for your bootloader.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Tried flashing stock via Kies. Still the same problem.

Also, ran into this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pai4BH3AWq8 but on Stock, there was no option 6 or way to see FTM.

On custom 4.4 roms, you get the "Mobile Network not Available" when trying to fix null IMEI (update: IMEI shows up as null/null).

Any help would be appreciated.
23rd March 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #9  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 803
 
2,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace

Tried flashing stock via Kies. Still the same problem.

Also, ran into this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pai4BH3AWq8 but on Stock, there was no option 6 or way to see FTM.

On custom 4.4 roms, you get the "Mobile Network not Available" when trying to fix null IMEI (update: IMEI shows up as null/null).

Any help would be appreciated.

Did you do the emergency recovery in Kies?

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
23rd March 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 5
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Did you do the emergency recovery in Kies?

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Yes.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes