Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,279 Members 52,962 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SIM Card Not Recognized after Install

Tip us?
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Default [Q] SIM Card Not Recognized after Install

Similar to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2375050 (except I made an efs backup), my SIM card is no longer recognized. Backed up everything using default Clockwork Mod recovery settings 6.0.3 on Wind T889v.

I installed roms in this order:
  1. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2675066
  2. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2488986

Of course, I noticed the SIM card was no longer being recognized upon installing Slim

In the past GT-N700 ROMs for T0LTE have worked fine. I was running BeanStalk 4.4.2 W0etweaks with working phone and sim card. The issue occured when installing.

As if my phone had not detected a SIM card, phone number, IMIE SV, and IMIE show up as "uknown".

I am not too sure how to proceed? Ideas?
 
Darkshado
Old
#2  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 459
Posts: 986
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montréal

 
DONATE TO ME
I've had similar issues with some versions of TWRP where flashing an Omni 4.4 nightly would leave me with no signal and an unknown IMEI. Flashing the very same ROM with CWM would work. (Odd, I know.)

FWIW I just flashed the latest t0lte Omni nightly with TWRP t0lte 2.7.0.0 earlier today and everything's been fine.

Another thing to look into is SELinux and making sure it is set to permissive.
My phones: Galaxy Note II SGH-T889V (with LTE enabled / ext4 SD card support on TouchWiz ROMs), Motorola XT-1045 Moto G LTE (TWRP)
Previous phones: Nexus S GT-I9020A, Galaxy Gio GT-S5660M (Arpeggiomod ROM / Discussion, stock rooted ROM), Motorola XT-1032 Moto G.
Phones for which I play "tech support" for family and friends: Galaxy Nexus GT-I9250, Galaxy Q SGH-T589R, Galaxy 551 GT-I5510M, LG C-800G Eclypse, Motorola XT-1032 Moto G
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkshado View Post
I've had similar issues with some versions of TWRP where flashing an Omni 4.4 nightly would leave me with no signal and an unknown IMEI. Flashing the very same ROM with CWM would work. (Odd, I know.)

FWIW I just flashed the latest t0lte Omni nightly with TWRP t0lte 2.7.0.0 earlier today and everything's been fine.

Another thing to look into is SELinux and making sure it is set to permissive.
Tried with CWM 6.0.3 with no luck. Tried with Phiz Touch 6.07.9-t0lte, and no luck as well. I will try TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0 shortly. Which version of CWM did you get it to work with?

Tried setting SELinux to permissive via https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mrbimc.selinux, but it made no difference. Am I supposed to do something after I set it to permissive?
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Default TWRP 2.6.0 Will Not Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace View Post
Tried with CWM 6.0.3 with no luck. Tried with Phiz Touch 6.07.9-t0lte, and no luck as well. I will try TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0 shortly. Which version of CWM did you get it to work with?

Tried setting SELinux to permissive via https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mrbimc.selinux, but it made no difference. Am I supposed to do something after I set it to permissive?
I was not able to install TWRP t0ltecan 2.7.0, but I was able to install TWRP t0lte 2.6.0. And the installation, along with any other 4.4 ROM fails with the following error:

Code:
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E: Error executing updater binary in zip '/external...
Error flashing zip 'external_sdcard/omni-4.4.2..
I will try other ROMs with CWM 6.0.3 and Philz TouchWiz. Hopefully, I will figure something out...
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Default Could this be the same problem?

Hmm... I've been troubleshooting different ROMs with no luck. But could this be the solution? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1970338
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Smile Fixed My Phone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace View Post
Hmm... I've been troubleshooting different ROMs with no luck. But could this be the solution? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1970338
Indeed, I had to flash my modem. For users like me, of the T889V, download the modem from http://androtransfer.com/?developer=...older=SGH-T889 and flash the file using the recovery of your choice (I used TeamWin 2.7.0). Note that you will need to install openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-t0lte.zip (and not the can version openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-t0ltecan.zip, as that version will not install). You can flash your modem at any time, and it will not affect your current ROM. You don't need to clear dalvik cache, cache, or do a factory reset; just flash the modem file.

This problem occurs because you try to install a ROM that's not for your phone. So in my case, OmniRom included a modem not for my version (international). Because the modem is normally not included in ROM packages, it doesn't matter which ROM you install. To get back to a working state, you need to flash your original modem.

Hopefully this helps someone.
 
Coug76
Old
#7  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 698
Posts: 1,896
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
You could try to Odin back to your device's stock rom. Which ever version is appropriate for your bootloader.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
You could try to Odin back to your device's stock rom. Which ever version is appropriate for your bootloader.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Tried flashing stock via Kies. Still the same problem.

Also, ran into this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pai4BH3AWq8 but on Stock, there was no option 6 or way to see FTM.

On custom 4.4 roms, you get the "Mobile Network not Available" when trying to fix null IMEI (update: IMEI shows up as null/null).

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Coug76
Old
#9  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 698
Posts: 1,896
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgottenSolstace View Post
Tried flashing stock via Kies. Still the same problem.

Also, ran into this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pai4BH3AWq8 but on Stock, there was no option 6 or way to see FTM.

On custom 4.4 roms, you get the "Mobile Network not Available" when trying to fix null IMEI (update: IMEI shows up as null/null).

Any help would be appreciated.
Did you do the emergency recovery in Kies?

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
 
ForgottenSolstace
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
Did you do the emergency recovery in Kies?

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Yes.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes