Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] [SOLVED] updating default apps

18th March 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
hey all, i have a query, last week i ran an RUU 1.29.707.4 on my phone and it installed some default apps on my phone like 7Digital , now i understand that these default apps are necessary for applying OTA updates as OTA checks md5 sum of these default apps. but today, i checked PlayStore and there was an update available for the 7Digital app so i went ahead and updated it. My question is this : can this updated 7Digital app affect OTAs by failing the md5 checksum or does the md5 remain the same even after updating the app? i just updated the app via playstore, didnt rename, remove or move it. Thanks in advance
18th March 2014, 09:55 AM   |  #2  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

hey all, i have a query, last week i ran an RUU 1.29.707.4 on my phone and it installed some default apps on my phone like 7Digital , now i understand that these default apps are necessary for applying OTA updates as OTA checks md5 sum of these default apps. but today, i checked PlayStore and there was an update available for the 7Digital app so i went ahead and updated it. My question is this : can this updated 7Digital app affect OTAs by failing the md5 checksum or does the md5 remain the same even after updating the app? i just updated the app via playstore, didnt rename, remove or move it. Thanks in advance

updating apps won't stop OTA. you can even add some apps if you like too.
The Following User Says Thank You to cr1960 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960

updating apps won't stop OTA. you can even add some apps if you like too.

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?
18th March 2014, 10:21 AM   |  #4  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?

correct
The Following User Says Thank You to cr1960 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,311
 
6,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?

and please next time, make up your mind if you want to PM who knows how many people OR open a thread at the same time, double posting is really not recommended
18th March 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

and please next time, make up your mind if you want to PM who knows how many people OR open a thread at the same time, double posting is really not recommended

ok
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes