Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

NETFLIX: We're having trouble playing this title right now...

OP FL00DY

18th March 2014, 06:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I'm living in Panama City, so I'm natively in the Mexico Netflix region. On my apple TV I'm using unblock-us to change regions. Obviously for chromecast I've removed all DNS settings from my S3, TF700 and MBP. I can watch Netflix fine on all three devices. On Chromecast I only get a few minutes, maybe 5, before I get "We're having trouble playing this title right now. Please try again later or select a different title."

This happens with all my devices. Netflix plays fine on those devices.
Google Play Movies plays perfect, Youtube has no problems.
Looking at internet traffic as the message appears, I dont see a drop in traffic at all. However in recent weeks, watching Hulu on our apple tv can sometimes take 20 minutes longer thanks to lots of pauses.

I purchased this so I didnt have to keep moving my ATV up and down stairs. I like that it's cheap, I like using a phone or chrome to control it - but I wonder if Google ever plan to add manual IP settings. How much will they add to it in the future?

I'm very tech savy, have been in IT for 13 years. The cable modem and router I have are completely foreign to me, I dont know the username and password to login and even look at the firmware. All I know is it's a motorola something. But I did miss the window for rooting it and I was thinking if I could roll the firmware back to allow rooting, but I doubt it.

Anyone have any suggesting?
18th March 2014, 07:01 PM   |  #2  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
If Netflix is working on other devices I would suspect your Chromecast is not getting a good/stable WiFi signal.
Use the HDMI extender, try a different (side/front) HDMI port if your TV has one and make sure it has line-of-sight to your router with as few obstructions as possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

If Netflix is working on other devices I would suspect your Chromecast is not getting a good/stable WiFi signal.
Use the HDMI extender, try a different (side/front) HDMI port if your TV has one and make sure it has line-of-sight to your router with as few obstructions as possible.

Sadly this doesnt work either Why would the unstable wifi signal be problem with Netflix and not Google Play? Better connection to Google's own servers?

I tried this and still no luck
18th March 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by FL00DY

Sadly this doesnt work either Why would the unstable wifi signal be problem with Netflix and not Google Play? Better connection to Google's own servers?

I tried this and still no luck

Differences in encoding rate can make one service work while another has problems, so really depends.

Has Netflix on Chromecast ever worked okay in this configuration?
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

Differences in encoding rate can make one service work while another has problems, so really depends.

Has Netflix on Chromecast ever worked okay in this configuration?

Nope, I'm yet to finish a program without interruption, I keep switching to my ATV after the 4-5 attempt.
My wife is a apple faithful, I cant show her my new google toy and have it not work 100%. Netflix works fine most of the time on the ATV, maybe a few times the video freezes and the audio keeps playing. I think maybe the ATV handles the little dropouts better, Hulu will pause for 10-15 seconds and keep playing.

Speedtest only records 4.5-5Mb
22nd March 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I think I know what your problem is since I've encountered it myself.

You're using a different dns configuration to watch Netflix from a different region, let's take the USA as an example. When you configure the unblock-us setting into your router or your mobile devices they'll work and play the USA Netflix content just fine. But these settings will never work for the chromecast since it will always use google's dns which is 8.8.8.8. Or 8.8.4.4 since this is baked into the chromecast and cannot be changed.

Once you start streaming us based Netflix content to your chromecast... It's going to see that that content is not available in your region and it'll time out and show you the message you've mentioned.

The only way around this is to root your chromecast which is now impossible if you haven't already done so, or you have to have a dd-wrt supported router. So you can reroute the google dns to the unblock-us dns.

Sent from the dark side of the moon
Last edited by scandalousk; 22nd March 2014 at 01:23 PM.
23rd March 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #7  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandalousk

The only way around this is to root your chromecast which is now impossible if you haven't already done so, or you have to have a dd-wrt supported router. So you can reroute the google dns to the unblock-us dns.

Root and iptables (which is supported by open/hacked router firmwares other than DD-WRT as well) are not the only ways:
You can also try adding a static route to an unresponsive local address
Or if your router supports blocking access to specific IPs, you can block 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

Depending on your router one or both may work.
If Chromecast times out in trying to reach Google DNS, it will fall back to the DHCP-supplied DNS.
It has to try and fail timeout, rather than get immediately refused though. Immediate refusal will make it nag about not being able to reach the Internet.
23rd March 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

Root and iptables (which is supported by open/hacked router firmwares other than DD-WRT as well) are not the only ways:
You can also try adding a static route to an unresponsive local address
Or if your router supports blocking access to specific IPs, you can block 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

Depending on your router one or both may work.
If Chromecast times out in trying to reach Google DNS, it will fall back to the DHCP-supplied DNS.
It has to try and fail timeout, rather than get immediately refused though. Immediate refusal will make it nag about not being able to reach the Internet.

Correct. Silly of me to not even mention this since this is the method I use lol. Thanks for pointing it out mate!

Sent from the dark side of the moon
23rd March 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #9  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandalousk

Correct. Silly of me to not even mention this since this is the method I use lol. Thanks for pointing it out mate!

There are so many little details, even I forget from time to time. Just wanted to make sure people didn't think it's hopeless, at least not on the DNS front.
24th March 2014, 03:20 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandalousk

I think I know what your problem is since I've encountered it myself.

You're using a different dns configuration to watch Netflix from a different region, let's take the USA as an example. When you configure the unblock-us setting into your router or your mobile devices they'll work and play the USA Netflix content just fine. But these settings will never work for the chromecast since it will always use google's dns which is 8.8.8.8. Or 8.8.4.4 since this is baked into the chromecast and cannot be changed.

Once you start streaming us based Netflix content to your chromecast... It's going to see that that content is not available in your region and it'll time out and show you the message you've mentioned.

The only way around this is to root your chromecast which is now impossible if you haven't already done so, or you have to have a dd-wrt supported router. So you can reroute the google dns to the unblock-us dns.

Sent from the dark side of the moon

scandalousk thanks for the advice. However like I said, I'm not running any unblock-us service on my devices or routers. It's running on my ATV but it was switched off while I was trying all this...

Any method that means changing my Router config is useless as it was equipment provided by the cable company in Panama and while I can hide my device from my wife, I cant very well hide a new router. I dont know the username and password to even checkout the firmware and features. When I google the part numbers and model numbers I'm lucky to get 3-4 search results.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes