Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 42,261 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Question about safestrap

Tip us?
 
mrbracht
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 592
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mankato, MN

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Question about safestrap

Hello, I am new to the note 3 and safestrap.


Anyways, question I have is. Can you format out the stock rom and then install a rom in its place under the stock rom slot? Thank you in advance

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
goldy253
Old
#2  
goldy253's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 92
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes, we'll you don't format it. Save a backup of your stock slot, then flash your custom rom to the first slot.

Galaxy Note 3
It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.
The Following User Says Thank You to goldy253 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrbracht
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 592
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mankato, MN

 
DONATE TO ME
Thank you for your response. Basically what I'm wondering is if you could only have 1 rom total on your phone to save space instead of having 2 roms. I. E. Stock and rom 1.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
pball52998
Old
#4  
pball52998's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 462
Join Date: Jan 2014
I wouldn't suggest deleting the stock ROM..... Since its Verizon you have a locked bootloader and can't flash kernels via safeatrap (safestrap can't flash kernels anyway.) So if you delete stock slot you pretty much delete kernel if I'm right, and you can't Odin it back to stock I don't think because of the bootloader..... So yes make a big backup of the stock. If you want to take the risk of erasing and having a brick you can try it...... Safe strap can only flash touch wiz ROMs because it can't touch the kernel since the bootloader is locked.....

Sent from my Rezound using xda-developers app. CyanogenMod 11. S-off
Main Phone:
Verizon HTC One M8
Liquid Smooth 4.4.4 Nightlies and GPE With L S-OFF
Main MP3 Player and WiFi Device
HTC OG Droid Incredible S-OFF: Cyanogenmod 11
Current Tablet
iPad First Gen. iOS 5.1.1 Jailbroken with GreenPois0n
The Following User Says Thank You to pball52998 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrbracht
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 592
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mankato, MN

 
DONATE TO ME
F'n Verizon! Ugh. Thanks guys!

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
pball52998
Old
#6  
pball52998's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 462
Join Date: Jan 2014
Don't we all hate Verizon lol? Its like with the HTC one they locked it and you couldn't unlock it on the htcdev website, until firewater came out but no one has figured out for the Samsung yet... I do admit I've looked into the bootloader.... That things a b****...... Motorola can't be unlocked either.... Currently me and my friend are working on something for that... But.... So yeah I wouldn't suggest wiping stock, I would be gung ho for it if bootloader was unlocked and had legit twrp.... But just only flash touch wiz ROMs. I would go debloated with a whatever theme you want, kit kat themes are awesome, Google now launcher!!!! Lol XD but yeah good luck man :$

Sent from my Rezound using xda-developers app. CyanogenMod 11. S-off
Main Phone:
Verizon HTC One M8
Liquid Smooth 4.4.4 Nightlies and GPE With L S-OFF
Main MP3 Player and WiFi Device
HTC OG Droid Incredible S-OFF: Cyanogenmod 11
Current Tablet
iPad First Gen. iOS 5.1.1 Jailbroken with GreenPois0n
 
DesigningKnights
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
So, if I'm reading this correctly, if I want to avoid using a second slot, I should dirty flash the custom rom over the stock rom? Is that correct? After I've made a backup of the stock rom slot course, and then backed up that backup, and then backed up that backup.
 
DesigningKnights
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Ok well, there was no answer, but I got some advice elsewhere.

The safest method I was told of that also worked well for me was the following.

1. While in safestrap recovery with slot 1 active, make a backup of data and system.

2. Change to stock active and reboot into SS recovery.

3. Backup stock to be safe in case something goes wrong

4. Wipe with a regular factory reset.

5. Restore the backup from slot 1 into the stock slot.

6. Reboot.

7. Make sure it functions, then reboot into SS again and delete your slot 1 freeing up space.


Now I'm running JellyBeans Build 6 in my stock slot with no problems, and 19Gb free.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...