Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 52,237 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] rooting SGH-T999 with Skipsoft

Tip us?
 
fdecker
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Mar 2014
Question [Q] rooting SGH-T999 with Skipsoft

I've read as much as I can and I just need a little more help. I want to be able to root my T-Mobile Galaxy S3, SGH-T999.

1. Is there any other way to pull files from /data/data without rooting?
2. Can I just do a simple root and then later root with CWM or TWRP using another option?
3. I thought rooted was rooted, what is the need for "insecure boot"? Is that the only way to get a file image backup of my partitions?
4. None of the rooting options in the Skipsoft Android Toolkit wipe the device, correct?
5. Is the only way to be able to "recover" back to stock by installing a "custom recovery"?

All of the options include "custom recovery". What if I just want to root the device and install a custom recovery later? Or it custom recovery included in all the options so I can get back to stock if I mess up? Thanks!
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3634
Posts: 6,042
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
I am not sure why you'd need to go to such extent.

By your question on Insecure Kernel, I assume, you have Stock 4.3 update. If so, please flash SuperSU Zip via Custom Recovery. You can Also flash Root66 of 4.3 (UVUEMJC ) to get Root as well. None of these methods are destructive and make you loose your data.

As to your other questions, /data/data should be accessible read only to Good File explorers such as ES File Explorer. My Backup Pro should be able to backup those files too. Insecure boot is needed to root as SELINUX Enforcing will not let you have Stable Root. Best Flash ATT Insecure Kernel Posted on this sub forum. I don't understand what you mean by "Recover to Stock".
 
fdecker
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default can't do anything without root

I tried ES File explorer and 2 others, they show /data/data as blank. Most everywhere I've looked says you have to have root
 
Perseus71
Old
#4  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3634
Posts: 6,042
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
In that case please post your Current Android version and what you see under Baseband. What step we take next depends on this information.
 
fdecker
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default rooting galaxy

Quote:
Originally Posted by perseus71 View Post
in that case please post your current android version and what you see under baseband. What step we take next depends on this information.
4.3, t999uvuenc2
 
jmberumenb
Old
(Last edited by jmberumenb; 26th March 2014 at 01:41 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 101
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdecker View Post
4.3, t999uvuenc2
Root 66 Will not work you will need Auto Root, CWM/TWRP and Update SuperSU for a complete root.

CF-Auto-Root-d2tmo-d2tmo-sght999.tar
openrecovery-twrp-2.7.0.0-d2tmo
UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.93
DE-SAMSUNGNIZER_KNOX_REMOVAL_SCRIPT_V1.0

For a suceed root and Knox remove.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more