Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,426 Members 53,810 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] how to fix SM-N900 network signal for UK mobile network?

Tip us?
 
londonuser
Old
(Last edited by londonuser; 27th March 2014 at 11:11 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] how to fix SM-N900 network signal for UK mobile network?

Yes, I need help and guidance for this new Note 3 that my wife received gift from my mother-in-law (a bit jealous at that time) when we were in India but so far unable to use in UK network for long.

phone details:
Model number - SM-N900
Android version - 4.4.2
Baseband version - N900DDUDNA1
Kernal version -
3.4.39-679903
dpi@SWDD5518#1
Wed Feb 12 17:49:20 KST2014

Build Number - KOT49H.N900XXUDNB2
Device Status - Official

The phone was sold to us as International unlocked phone in last week of february, we didn't put any SIM but once started the phone in Mumbai it didn't ask for any regional lock or sim unlock code so we were satisfied that phone is unlocked. We didn't test it with any SIM in India though. First we put the SIM in UK and as usual it didn't prompt for unlock code etc. straight we got signal on Three uk network
but signal only lasted around 1min. When I checked signal strength it kept changing and the phone gets no signal. Have been in constant touch with 3 Network in UK(london area) and they are confirming that this phone can work in UK on there network without any issue unless there is a hardware fault.

I have spent numerous hours resetting the phone/ selecting network/ trying SIMs from different provider but signal comes and goes. When its there I can make and receive calls without any problem.

Once I made a call for more than 12 mins but signal doesn't last that much anymore.

It goes like this in Mobile Network type - H --> H+ --> HSDPA then drops (with signal strenth -113dBm 0 asu) when asu is higher it works. All this happens within a minute time frame. The wifi works fine hence software updated.

Now I feel there is problem in its Antenna but I need expert advise before I send it back to India as Samsung UK refused to fix it since phone is not bought in UK (though I was ready to pay for it) but now I guess they don't have anybody in UK to repair such phones.

Please suggest to fix this issue if you or people in your network have had such issue before and how do I resolve it?

Kind regards,
londonuser
 
londonuser
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default SM-N900 network signal issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by londonuser View Post
Yes, I need help and guidance for this new Note 3 that my wife received gift from my mother-in-law (a bit jealous at that time) when we were in India but so far unable to use in UK network for long.

phone details:
Model number - SM-N900
Android version - 4.4.2
Baseband version - N900DDUDNA1
Kernal version -
3.4.39-679903
dpi@SWDD5518#1
Wed Feb 12 17:49:20 KST2014

Build Number - KOT49H.N900XXUDNB2
Device Status - Official

The phone was sold to us as International unlocked phone in last week of february, we didn't put any SIM but once started the phone in Mumbai it didn't ask for any regional lock or sim unlock code so we were satisfied that phone is unlocked. We didn't test it with any SIM in India though. First we put the SIM in UK and as usual it didn't prompt for unlock code etc. straight we got signal on Three uk network
but signal only lasted around 1min. When I checked signal strength it kept changing and the phone gets no signal. Have been in constant touch with 3 Network in UK(london area) and they are confirming that this phone can work in UK on there network without any issue unless there is a hardware fault.

I have spent numerous hours resetting the phone/ selecting network/ trying SIMs from different provider but signal comes and goes. When its there I can make and receive calls without any problem.

Once I made a call for more than 12 mins but signal doesn't last that much anymore.

It goes like this in Mobile Network type - H --> H+ --> HSDPA then drops (with signal strenth -113dBm 0 asu) when asu is higher it works. All this happens within a minute time frame. The wifi works fine hence software updated.

Now I feel there is problem in its Antenna but I need expert advise before I send it back to India as Samsung UK refused to fix it since phone is not bought in UK (though I was ready to pay for it) but now I guess they don't have anybody in UK to repair such phones.

Please suggest to fix this issue if you or people in your network have had such issue before and how do I resolve it?

Kind regards,
londonuser
Spoke to Samsung UK no joy so back to forum for any help?
 
x102x96x
Old
#3  
x102x96x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Linux

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by londonuser View Post
Yes, I need help and guidance for this new Note 3 that my wife received gift from my mother-in-law (a bit jealous at that time) when we were in India but so far unable to use in UK network for long.

phone details:
Model number - SM-N900
Android version - 4.4.2
Baseband version - N900DDUDNA1
Kernal version -
3.4.39-679903
dpi@SWDD5518#1
Wed Feb 12 17:49:20 KST2014

Build Number - KOT49H.N900XXUDNB2
Device Status - Official

The phone was sold to us as International unlocked phone in last week of february, we didn't put any SIM but once started the phone in Mumbai it didn't ask for any regional lock or sim unlock code so we were satisfied that phone is unlocked. We didn't test it with any SIM in India though. First we put the SIM in UK and as usual it didn't prompt for unlock code etc. straight we got signal on Three uk network
but signal only lasted around 1min. When I checked signal strength it kept changing and the phone gets no signal. Have been in constant touch with 3 Network in UK(london area) and they are confirming that this phone can work in UK on there network without any issue unless there is a hardware fault.

I have spent numerous hours resetting the phone/ selecting network/ trying SIMs from different provider but signal comes and goes. When its there I can make and receive calls without any problem.

Once I made a call for more than 12 mins but signal doesn't last that much anymore.

It goes like this in Mobile Network type - H --> H+ --> HSDPA then drops (with signal strenth -113dBm 0 asu) when asu is higher it works. All this happens within a minute time frame. The wifi works fine hence software updated.

Now I feel there is problem in its Antenna but I need expert advise before I send it back to India as Samsung UK refused to fix it since phone is not bought in UK (though I was ready to pay for it) but now I guess they don't have anybody in UK to repair such phones.

Please suggest to fix this issue if you or people in your network have had such issue before and how do I resolve it?

Kind regards,
londonuser
it s too far to be hardware problem.
u can do this;
1. flash SM-N900 UK ROM /u can find firmware on sammobile.com/firmware
or
2. flash just its modem firmware /u can find in dev section

if nothing happen after 2-3 times flashing different stock firmware of uk and modem u should ask for replacement.
 
Java.Symbian.WP8.iOS4/5/6/7
Android; Fy \GB \ICS \JB \KK \CustomROM
Devices; Nexus \Xperia \Galaxy \LG \htc \Lenovo
./Android-Ubuntu Programming

>>> XperiaSmallApp & GalaxyMultiWindow & All-Device <<<
>>> AndroidWear <<<

SonyXperiaZ2; D6503/.314
SamsungGalaxyNoteIII
;
N900 /ND1
GoogleNexus5; D821 | MultiROM
UbuntuTouch & CM11 (In Use)
GoogleNexus7
;
Grouper | MultiROM
BT5 & CM11 (In Use)





The Following User Says Thank You to x102x96x For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
londonuser
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x102x96x View Post
it s too far to be hardware problem.
u can do this;
1. flash SM-N900 UK ROM /u can find firmware on sammobile.com/firmware
or
2. flash just its modem firmware /u can find in dev section

if nothing happen after 2-3 times flashing different stock firmware of uk and modem u should ask for replacement.
Many thanks for reply as suggested

for option 1 - I tried before and now as well on sammobile when I select N900 I do not get UK in the country dropdown list to select the different firmware, whatever firmware they have for india is already updated on my phone

that leaves option 2 which I am more interested in because when I restart the modem using any app it comes back quickly but again goes dead.

I am new user so can't post any request in Dev section and searched but couldn't find it. is there any specific search term I need to use to get modem firmware for UK for my N900?
 
x102x96x
Old
#5  
x102x96x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Linux

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by londonuser View Post
Many thanks for reply as suggested

for option 1 - I tried before and now as well on sammobile when I select N900 I do not get UK in the country dropdown list to select the different firmware, whatever firmware they have for india is already updated on my phone

that leaves option 2 which I am more interested in because when I restart the modem using any app it comes back quickly but again goes dead.

I am new user so can't post any request in Dev section and searched but couldn't find it. is there any specific search term I need to use to get modem firmware for UK for my N900?
Odin flashable modems for Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 - SM-N900
but search more in google
some words like this;
SM-N900 Modem Flash zip
SM-N900 ROM Flash zip
& ...

please hit thanks instead of typing
 
Java.Symbian.WP8.iOS4/5/6/7
Android; Fy \GB \ICS \JB \KK \CustomROM
Devices; Nexus \Xperia \Galaxy \LG \htc \Lenovo
./Android-Ubuntu Programming

>>> XperiaSmallApp & GalaxyMultiWindow & All-Device <<<
>>> AndroidWear <<<

SonyXperiaZ2; D6503/.314
SamsungGalaxyNoteIII
;
N900 /ND1
GoogleNexus5; D821 | MultiROM
UbuntuTouch & CM11 (In Use)
GoogleNexus7
;
Grouper | MultiROM
BT5 & CM11 (In Use)





The Following User Says Thank You to x102x96x For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
londonuser
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x102x96x View Post
Odin flashable modems for Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 - SM-N900
but search more in google
some words like this;
SM-N900 Modem Flash zip
SM-N900 ROM Flash zip
& ...

please hit thanks instead of typing
This is just to let you know there has been a progress, I only flashed the modem and its not lost signal since last hour so fingers crossed I will update once I watch out for next day or two.

Many thanks for your help, really appreciated !
 
sFranKv
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by londonuser View Post
This is just to let you know there has been a progress, I only flashed the modem and its not lost signal since last hour so fingers crossed I will update once I watch out for next day or two.

Many thanks for your help, really appreciated !
Please let me know if the problem got solved, i have the same problem, one more question for you, do u have kit kat installed on your phone?
 
RISHI RAJ
Old
#8  
RISHI RAJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 748
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: yamuna nagar
What I think z although the phone is unlocked the band frequency which the phone supports doesn't match thr 3g network in uk.If u send ur phone in India it will definitely work.If there z 2g network in UK,have u tried?If u don't want to send it just root it(warranty lost)& flash uk based modem & hope so ur problem will be solved

Sent from my SM-N900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to RISHI RAJ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
londonuser
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by RISHI RAJ View Post
What I think z although the phone is unlocked the band frequency which the phone supports doesn't match thr 3g network in uk.If u send ur phone in India it will definitely work.If there z 2g network in UK,have u tried?If u don't want to send it just root it(warranty lost)& flash uk based modem & hope so ur problem will be solved

Sent from my SM-N900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks for reply, thats why I am here, I am aware that if I send it to India it will work. But I want it to work in UK so seeking some guidance in that regard, so far unable to find required modem for UK networks
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes