Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

URGENT! Whole lot of mess! Need help!

27th March 2014, 03:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hi there. I set a homescreen ealier today to use a vpn. I wanted to turn it off but the "none" option was greyed out. I then go to security, and clear all installed credentials. Now when I tried texting, the messenger app would close upon opening. so I went to security and clicked system reset. I left "Erase Personal Data" unchecked. Then my phone rebooted and never moved past the "HTC Quietly Brilliant" screen. I forced it to reboot by holding the power button, and I proceeded to go to the bootloader! Great, it works. Go to recovery... as soon as I open it, my phone goes dark. I turn it back on, boot loop. and now my phone is stuck kinda "bricked". I have access to the bootloader and fastboot. I'm guessing the reset button that I clicked is looking for the stock recovery to restore the phone, but because it is replaced with clockworkmod's recovery, it closes on launch. Any way I can fix this mess without going to the at&t store or getting a new phone?

Specs prior to incident:
CleanRom 7.0R2 and Rooted
Hboot 2.41
S-Off

If I need to respecify anything, please let me know.

I wonder if I should try and reflash Recovery through fastboot. I still have the files backed up from when I rooted a year ago. what command would I type though.
Last edited by jackzilla241; 27th March 2014 at 05:04 AM.
27th March 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #2  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,410
 
3,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackzilla241

Hi there. I set a homescreen ealier today to use a vpn. I wanted to turn it off but the "none" option was greyed out. I then go to security, and clear all installed credentials. Now when I tried texting, the messenger app would close upon opening. so I went to security and clicked system reset. I left "Erase Personal Data" unchecked. Then my phone rebooted and never moved past the "HTC Quietly Brilliant" screen. I forced it to reboot by holding the power button, and I proceeded to go to the bootloader! Great, it works. Go to recovery... as soon as I open it, my phone goes dark. I turn it back on, boot loop. and No my phone is stuck kinda "bricked". I have access to the bootloader and fastboot. I'm guessing the reset button that I clicked is looking for the stock recovery to restore the phone, but because it is replaced with clockworkmod's recovery, it closes on launch. Any way I can fix this mess without going to the at&t store or getting a new phone?

Specs prior to incident:
CleanRom 7.0R2 and Rooted
Hboot 2.41
S-Off

If I need to respecify anything, please let me know.

I wonder if I should try and reflash Recovery through fastboot. I still have the files backed up from when I rooted a year ago. what command would I type though.

fastboot flash recovery recoveryfilename.img

you can try wiping everything and then restoring your backup.
27th March 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

fastboot flash recovery recoveryfilename.img

you can try wiping everything and then restoring your backup.

Got a window saying compatibility issues with 64-Bit windows.
Last edited by jackzilla241; 27th March 2014 at 05:05 AM.
27th March 2014, 05:12 AM   |  #4  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,410
 
3,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackzilla241

Got a window saying compatibility issues with 64-Bit windows.

I have no idea what you are talking about. Can you be more specific as to when or how you got this message?

IE: Explain what you were doing that brought it up?
27th March 2014, 05:18 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

I have no idea what you are talking about. Can you be more specific as to when or how you got this message?

IE: Explain what you were doing that brought it up?

In pic 5, I am on my desktop running Windows 7 Ultimate x64

In pic 6, I am on my laptop running Windows 7 Home Premium x86
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	89.6 KB
ID:	2652593   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	88.4 KB
ID:	2652594  
27th March 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #6  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,410
 
3,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
neither of those show you typing fastboot flash recovery recoveryfilename.img

also there should not be a compatibility issue at all.

Try these adb/fastboot files: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19685555/fb-adb.zip
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One X Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank