Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 39,219 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fix for T-Mobile LTE?

Tip us?
 
charlieb620
Old
(Last edited by charlieb620; 27th March 2014 at 03:20 PM.)
#1  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1928
Posts: 13,262
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Default Fix for T-Mobile LTE?

Is there a workaround or any suggestions to get everything functional such as calls etc.

As of now only data works but you can't receive or send out messages,make calls etc.

When connected to H+ everything works flawlessly and the carrier shows, when connected to LTE only data works nothing else and the phone can't identify what carrier is being used.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

UPDATE:

The issue seems to be that Verizon by default is locking the GSM radio. Users are reporting the same in the Moto X and Droid Ultra forum. Users using 4.4.2 on T-Mobile with a Verizon device.
 
123421342
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlieb620 View Post
Is there a workaround or any suggestions to get everything functional such as calls etc.

As of now only data works but you can't receive or send out messages,make calls etc.

When connected to H+ everything works flawlessly and the carrier shows, when connected to LTE only data works nothing else and the phone can't identify what carrier is being used.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

UPDATE:

The issue seems to be that Verizon by default is locking the GSM radio. Users are reporting the same in the Moto X and Droid Ultra forum. Users using 4.4.2 on T-Mobile with a Verizon device.
I thought verizon was forced to sim unlock all their lte devices?
 
charlieb620
Old
#3  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1928
Posts: 13,262
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123421342 View Post
I thought verizon was forced to sim unlock all their lte devices?
They are SIM unlocked as I'm using one but it seems the band we need for LTE isn't playing well.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
njneer
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Was curious if anyone else was having this issue. Any thoughts that it might be related to skipping Verizon activation? When I got the phone, wasn't activated and on first turn on it prompted activating Verizon Sim but I exited out and just popped in T-Mobile Sim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlieb620 View Post
Is there a workaround or any suggestions to get everything functional such as calls etc.

As of now only data works but you can't receive or send out messages,make calls etc.

When connected to H+ everything works flawlessly and the carrier shows, when connected to LTE only data works nothing else and the phone can't identify what carrier is being used.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

UPDATE:

The issue seems to be that Verizon by default is locking the GSM radio. Users are reporting the same in the Moto X and Droid Ultra forum. Users using 4.4.2 on T-Mobile with a Verizon device.
 
levilib
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 128
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by levilib View Post
AFAIK, LTE (unless the carrier is using voLTE) is a data only network. Verizon uses LTE for data and CDMA for calls and text.
Verizon seems to only allow GSM/UMTS or CDMA/LTE on the M8 at one time, there doesn't seem to be a true Global mode that allows GSM/UMTS and LTE to run at the same time.
That would explain why people are reporting either LTE or calls/texting (which, as above mentioned, only works on 2G/3G (be that CDMA or GSM))
The question is, is there a way to get around this? On the S3/S4 there was an app called phoneinfo which showed more modes than the Mobile Network settings menu. Is there such a thing for the M8?
This is quite disappointing news for me, since this is the first Verizon phone I'm aware of that has the 1800MHz LTE band, and that's the band used in Australia where I'm headed soon. I was excited about being able to finally use LTE there! I guess I'll have a choice between LTE and calls/text like all those in this thread using T-Mobile.
Thought I'd copy this here
Verizon HTC One (M8)
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4 (SCH-I545)
 
must.sayim
Old
(Last edited by must.sayim; 30th March 2014 at 08:32 PM.)
#6  
must.sayim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 144
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: sanaa
http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-on...to/394092.html

Hoping the best that this would be the fix for the GSM

while you edit the data as well I believe
LIST OF MY PHONES:
xperia arc (sold)

htc one x (sold) LeeDroid

samsung s 3 (sold) 4.2.2 cyan

xperia z c6603 (SOLD)

HTC ONE M8 VERIZON


THANK ME IF I HELPED YOU
 
prdog1
Old
#7  
prdog1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4420
Posts: 7,780
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Will never get 4G LTE on any other carrier besides Verizon in the US. Never have. Never will. Those radio bands are blocked at chip level.
TEAM MiK / TEAM CLEAN
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy SIII-I535
 
must.sayim
Old
#8  
must.sayim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 144
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: sanaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by prdog1 View Post
Will never get 4G LTE on any other carrier besides Verizon in the US. Never have. Never will. Those radio bands are blocked at chip level.
They got the M8 Lte work with T-Mobile but Calls and messages are not working while you have LTE

youtube.com/watch?v=oJwqFersSoo
LIST OF MY PHONES:
xperia arc (sold)

htc one x (sold) LeeDroid

samsung s 3 (sold) 4.2.2 cyan

xperia z c6603 (SOLD)

HTC ONE M8 VERIZON


THANK ME IF I HELPED YOU
 
prdog1
Old
(Last edited by prdog1; 30th March 2014 at 09:04 PM.)
#9  
prdog1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4420
Posts: 7,780
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by must.sayim View Post
They got the M8 Lte work with T-Mobile but Calls and messages are not working while you have LTE

youtube.com/watch?v=oJwqFersSoo
More than likely it is same as Verizon. Won't happen till they have voice and data both over AWS network. Currently on Verizon data is on LTE and voice is on CDMA. If can get into signal settings may be a way to lock the voice section in. It is not on LTE. Verizon has had the two linked since TBolt. Others have had a problem doing this. Has to be able to do dual band at same time. Also shouldn't get LTE at all if not in T-Mobile AWS area.
TEAM MiK / TEAM CLEAN
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy SIII-I535
 
sgtmedeiros
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 611
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Barrington, RI
Phone info

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more