FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Three UK Model - Flash to stock?

27th March 2014, 03:42 PM |#1  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
My Three model comes unlocked but is already behind when it comes to firmware. It also only has the APNs for Three (so I have to manually input for any other SIM I insert) and there's an annoying splash screen.

I'm not very well-read when it comes to flashing HTC devices but am I right in thinking that there is no way to flash stock firmware without S-off and bootloader unlock? One good thing about even the Sony handsets is that you can flash stock firmware without going through hell.

If I'm wrong could someone point me in the right direction. Not the end of the world if I can't 'stockify' but it would be nice
27th March 2014, 05:25 PM |#2  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.
27th March 2014, 05:45 PM |#3  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm

Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.


Does this require boot loader unlocking or a simple flash?
27th March 2014, 06:06 PM |#4  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
Unlock bootloader.
Flash a recovery through Fastboot -

Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img


Put rom on sd
In recovery backup current rom, then flash custom rom
27th March 2014, 06:08 PM |#5  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Hmmm I'd have to have the 'tampered' warning and lose my warranty that way wouldn't I?
Might just live with it for now. Thanks though.
27th March 2014, 06:17 PM |#6  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
You won't lose warranty no.
27th March 2014, 06:32 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag East Kilbride
Thanks Meter: 367
 
More
That's a common misconception.
Unless you broke the actual hardware, they are still liable for it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes