Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more
Post Reply

brand new tf701 screen scrambled when waking from sleep.

OP gen1mx6

27th March 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
i just bought this tablet and was playing around with it and there were no problems.

i downloaded and used the unlock and now my screen looks scrambled after waking from sleep. not all the time though, just occassionally.

i can fix it by sleeping and waking again but was wondering if this is a serious issue and attempt to return it.
27th March 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
i have this issue sent it to asus to be told this was normal.... don`t waste your time

it`s likely a gpu fault and will eventually break but asus didn`t care in my case
27th March 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
You should return it Asap. I got the same issues and switched for a new one.

Envoyé de mon K00C en utilisant Tapatalk
27th March 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 953
 
2,896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by issawillwin

You should return it Asap. I got the same issues and switched for a new one.

Envoyé de mon K00C en utilisant Tapatalk

It is unlocked = no returns, no warranty.
Install a custom rom or re-flash the Asus firmware. If you're lucky it is a software glitch which would be fixed by installing a new rom.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk
27th March 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

It is unlocked = no returns, no warranty.
Install a custom rom or re-flash the Asus firmware. If you're lucky it is a software glitch which would be fixed by installing a new rom.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk

Sorry i missed this detail. Do what he says.

Envoyé de mon K00C en utilisant Tapatalk
27th March 2014, 06:23 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
thanks for the information... guess i'm just going to continue and flash a new rom and see if it gets better.

worst case scenario i'll brick it and ask for a refund
27th March 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #7  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 953
 
2,896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen1mx6

thanks for the information... guess i'm just going to continue and flash a new rom and see if it gets better.

worst case scenario i'll brick it and ask for a refund

Don't know if they'd play along (UID = user induced damage) and it really would be a shame.
You could try to return it to the vendor. They may not check if it is unlocked. Check the return policy.
Highly unlikely that unlocking caused this, so I think you're innocent and should not be left holding the bag for what is most likely a HW defect. Contact the seller (go there if brick&mortar) send them a screenshot or photo. Most likely they'll exchange it.

I always wait a month before I do something to a device that may affect warranty. Give faulty hardware a chance to manifest itself...


Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF701 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank