Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,398 Members 39,808 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Please help: Chrome stopped working

Tip us?
 
body150165
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 182
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangkok
Default Please help: Chrome stopped working

Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?
 
Mandark52
Old
#2  
Mandark52's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 241
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165 View Post
Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?
Hmmm.... try the 'Undo sys integration' option in Titanium Backup n see whether it works. Tell us what happens next.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using xda app-developers app
 
body150165
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 182
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangkok
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandark52 View Post
Hmmm.... try the 'Undo sys integration' option in Titanium Backup n see whether it works. Tell us what happens next.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using xda app-developers app
Hello, "undo sys integration" lets me know that there is nothing to undo. So, I can not execute this process.

@yuzgen: Chrome is still a system app and so, I can not make it one ( as it is already)
 
yuzgen
Old
#4  
yuzgen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 100
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Istanbul
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165 View Post
Hello, "undo sys integration" lets me know that there is nothing to undo. So, I can not execute this process.

@yuzgen: Chrome is still a system app and so, I can not make it one ( as it is already)
But you put "Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it." in your first post. So now it must be a user app?
Phone: S4 i9500, PA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2669569
Own tablet: Asus Memo Pad 7: rooted stock 4.2.2 ROM. Waiting for CM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2689789
Daughter's tablet: RocketTab, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2507772
 
yuzgen
Old
#5  
yuzgen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 100
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Istanbul
Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165 View Post
Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?
Try clearing data and defaults of Chrome in "system settings - apps" and then long pressing Chrome and turning it to a system app in TB.
Phone: S4 i9500, PA: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2669569
Own tablet: Asus Memo Pad 7: rooted stock 4.2.2 ROM. Waiting for CM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2689789
Daughter's tablet: RocketTab, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2507772
 
jeffrey268
Old
#6  
jeffrey268's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 135
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: W.b.D.
Exclamation Try this!

Quote:
Originally Posted by body150165 View Post
Hi guys... stupid me... I was playing around with Titaniuum Backup and read about the recommended job to integrate update into the ROM in order to free up space. Good idea, i thought.

So, I pressed it and was toasted successfully. Tried to start chrome again and was told that an error occurred and I have to delete chrome first. Well. I wondered as it is a system app. Never mind. Titanium backup pro solves the problem I thought. Deleted Chrome, restarted and installed it.

If now I want to start Chrome, it closes itself and gives a toast that "Chrome stopped working". I can press report or ok. The most interesting part is, that this toast appears 2 times. So, I guess that the process starts 2 times and produces a conflict.

Any idea?
1. Make sure chrome is closed.
2. Go to the app settings and remove all data from chrome.
3. Go into /data/data/ (with a root explorer) and remove any directory with chrome (probably: com.android.chrome),
4. Then remove chrome from your device.
5. Restart the device after that reinstall chrome from the play store.
Phone:
Device: Samsung galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)
OS: Android KitKat 4.4.2
ROM: GOLDFiNGER Latest By iB4STiD

Tablet 1:
Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition)
OS: Android KitKat 4.4.2
ROM: Hyperdrive KK Latest By sbreen94

Tablet 2:
Device: PackardBell Liberty Tab (G100W)
OS: Android KitKat 4.4.4
ROM: OmniROM 4.4.4 A500/A501 (latest version)

↓↓↓↓↓ If my post helped you just hit that THANKS button down there. ↓↓↓↓↓
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffrey268 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
body150165
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 182
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangkok
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrey268 View Post
1. Make sure chrome is closed.
2. Go to the app settings and remove all data from chrome.
3. Go into /data/data/ (with a root explorer) and remove any directory with chrome (probably: com.android.chrome),
4. Then remove chrome from your device.
5. Restart the device after that reinstall chrome from the play store.
Thank you Jeffrey. That solved my problem. If ever you come to Thailand, I invite you to a beer (or 2)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes