Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,556 Members 42,195 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Problem after update

Tip us?
 
Mr. bird
Old
#1  
Mr. bird's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 536
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Problem after update

After I updated my phone to 4.4.2 I lose service and have to restart my phone multiple times a day to get service back. I called T-Mobile and after resetting the phone they said they would replace it. Then I called Samsung and they said to bring it to best buy to have it reflashed. I can go there but I could also flash it via Odin at home. Now my question is, if I flash the stock rom via Odin will it trip the Knox counter? I read that it won't and I read that it can. I just want to make sure it won't before I flash it incase I have to have it repaired or replaced.
Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
 
elesbb
Old
#2  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,368
Posts: 6,800
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. bird View Post
After I updated my phone to 4.4.2 I lose service and have to restart my phone multiple times a day to get service back. I called T-Mobile and after resetting the phone they said they would replace it. Then I called Samsung and they said to bring it to best buy to have it reflashed. I can go there but I could also flash it via Odin at home. Now my question is, if I flash the stock rom via Odin will it trip the Knox counter? I read that it won't and I read that it can. I just want to make sure it won't before I flash it incase I have to have it repaired or replaced.
Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
Did you update it officially or via a ROM flashed in a custom recovery?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
Mr. bird
Old
#3  
Mr. bird's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 536
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
Did you update it officially or via a ROM flashed in a custom recovery?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I updated ota. I haven't rooted this phone yet.


Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
 
elesbb
Old
#4  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,368
Posts: 6,800
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. bird View Post
I updated ota. I haven't rooted this phone yet.


Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
I would try flashing the stock official update through Odin. That's pretty much what best buy is going to do.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
Mr. bird
Old
#5  
Mr. bird's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 536
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
I would try flashing the stock official update through Odin. That's pretty much what best buy is going to do.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
That's what I was thinking. I just wanted to make sure that wouldn't trip the Knox counter going through odin. I wouldn't think so but I read somewhere when I did a Google search that someone said it did.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
 
elesbb
Old
#6  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,368
Posts: 6,800
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. bird View Post
That's what I was thinking. I just wanted to make sure that wouldn't trip the Knox counter going through odin. I wouldn't think so but I read somewhere when I did a Google search that someone said it did.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
So long as it's a 100 percent stock ROM it shouldn't. It only trips if system partition or a custom recovery are detected.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
Mr. bird
Old
#7  
Mr. bird's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 536
Join Date: Mar 2012
After replacing my SIM card on Friday, it's been good. I figured I'd give it a few days before I said something this time. It's weird that it happened right after I updated to kit kat

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
 
6stringbass
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. bird View Post
After replacing my SIM card on Friday, it's been good. I figured I'd give it a few days before I said something this time. It's weird that it happened right after I updated to kit kat

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
I've had SIM related issues before. Sometimes an older SIM card won't work correctly with a system update. With a new card problems disappear. Let's hope this is the case for you.

Steve
 
madhitsblog
Old
(Last edited by madhitsblog; 16th April 2014 at 02:07 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2011
Default in the same boat

Ever since I got the OTA Kit Kat my phone is in nightmare mode. Wifi wont stay on or ever even come on. Wake screen freezes and numerous other issues. I got same responses from TMO and Sammy and have spent 100 hours on here searching for HOW to fix. Ive used Odin 307 and 309 with various files CWM OUDHS, etc and never get anywhere. Just fails with "no PIT" errors every time.

Ive rooted phones before with NO problems , G2, and other HTCs, but Sammy driving me nuts.Im assuming its because I have 4.4.2

So your saying using Odin with a stock ROM will work? or errors again? samobile the site you need to pay to join right?

Ive seen THOUSANDS of people with SAME issues, various carriers as well as S4s and Nexus

Im so stinking frazzled from this
 
PanchoPlanet
Old
#10  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 626
Posts: 2,356
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Crooklyn

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhitsblog View Post
Ever since I got the OTA Kit Kat my phone is in nightmare mode. Wifi wont stay on or ever even come on. Wake screen freezes and numerous other issues. I got same responses from TMO and Sammy and have spent 100 hours on here searching for HOW to fix. Ive used Odin 307 and 309 with various files CWM OUDHS, etc and never get anywhere. Just fails with "no PIT" errors every time.

Ive rooted phones before with NO problems , G2, and other HTCs, but Sammy driving me nuts.Im assuming its because I have 4.4.2

So your saying using Odin with a stock ROM will work? or errors again? samobile the site you need to pay to join right?

Ive seen THOUSANDS of people with SAME issues, various carriers as well as S4s and Nexus

Im so stinking frazzled from this
Go here, this will help you figure it out.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2336392

Pp.

sent from my P5113 using TouchPal mind control keyboard. (Beta)
Sent from my Ginger infused Asus G73.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more