Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] MagicJack issue with 4.4 KitKat (still)

OP arbank94

1st April 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Alright, so I posted a thread a while back regarding how MagicJack crashes on my HTC One (M7). I simply open the app, it remains on a black screen for about 5 seconds then it crashes.
I am on ARHD 61.1.
I have tried all of these solutions:

-reinstall the app from Playstore
-reinstall the app from another source
-reinstall the app from both of the above with autosync off
-installed an earlier version of the app
-flashed the following roms: ARHD, Viper, Maximus (same issue on all roms)
-did a full wipe of my phone from TWRP
-reflashed ARHD again, and this is where I am at now

So I even took the extreme routes and it still didn't help. It simply just doesn't work with my phone.
Can anyone help me out with fixing this problem?

I have link of the logcat of when I try to open up MagicJack... http://pastebin.com/Gb90s8AH
2nd April 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Sorry for double posting.... this is the last time. If no one has any ideas this time then I'll give it up.
Last edited by arbank94; 2nd April 2014 at 02:00 AM.
2nd April 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #3  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 18
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
So I had a problem like this earlier, the issue was that everytime I installed a new rom, one of the first things I did was install Android Tuner and let that app install a lot of tweaks to speed up the system, and some of the tweaks in the build.prop caused a certain app to keep crashing because it kept running out of memory. Have you installed any tweaks after flashing any of the roms?
2nd April 2014, 03:53 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

So I had a problem like this earlier, the issue was that everytime I installed a new rom, one of the first things I did was install Android Tuner and let that app install a lot of tweaks to speed up the system, and some of the tweaks in the build.prop caused a certain app to keep crashing because it kept running out of memory. Have you installed any tweaks after flashing any of the roms?

Well first I was on ARHD 52. MagicJack didn't work, so I figured it was an issue with ARHD.

When ARHD 53 came out a couple of days ago, it STILL didn't work. At that point I figured something must have been wrong.
(I do install the ElementalX kernel (specifically for double tap to wake, I keep everything else at stock.)


But this time, I completely wiped my phone. I installed a fresh ARHD 61.1, and I tried out MagicJack BEFORE I installed ElementalX again. Turned out, MagicJack still didn't work.

So other than ElementalX, I do not install any tweaks.
2nd April 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #5  
Prophet16's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fremont, CA
Thanks Meter: 18
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Well that's odd,sometimes a clean install of a rom is still not enough to make a certain problem go away. I had issues with a specific base, when I install 4.19.401.8 base, I can't sign in to Google, but when I install a newer or older base, the problem is gone. Now if I were to install the same base over and over again the problem would resurface in a different base. So I decided to use the stock AT&T RUU and start over. The RUUs usually restore nearly everything. So I think you should give that a try. And if you can try to run an RUU exe, not a zip.
2nd April 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet16

Well that's odd,sometimes a clean install of a rom is still not enough to make a certain problem go away. I had issues with a specific base, when I install 4.19.401.8 base, I can't sign in to Google, but when I install a newer or older base, the problem is gone. Now if I were to install the same base over and over again the problem would resurface in a different base. So I decided to use the stock AT&T RUU and start over. The RUUs usually restore nearly everything. So I think you should give that a try. And if you can try to run an RUU exe, not a zip.

Problem with that is... I have a Latin American International HTC One with a CID which is not supported by any RUU.
So I SuperCID'd to 11111111, and none of the RUUs seem to work.
(so I'm probably not selecting the correct RUU)

But tell you what. I'm going to do another wipe. I'm going to start again from the beginning with a new TWRP, new rom, and new everything.
If at this point MagicJack is STILL not working, then I'm literally out of ideas and I'll try RUUing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc one, magicjack
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes