FORUMS

Android System WebView Update – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Android Webview is a system component powered by Chrome that allows Android … more

Hands-on With T-Mo LG G4 and Q&A

XDA Senior Member WinDroidGuy posted a hands-on video of the T-Mobile LG G4, and he is now … more

Quick Notes – Notification Panel Reminders

This app by XDA Senior Member yogi.306 is a quick and productive tool that … more

Who Is Your Favorite YouTuber That Covers Mobile?

There are dozens of talented YouTubers who cover mobile, but we want to know which … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Transferring from S3 to Note 3

1st April 2014, 12:36 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I'm going to buy a Note 3 tomorrow and I'd like to transfer my contacts from my S3 to it. Most of my contacts are saved to my Samsung account but I think some are on my Google Account.

Is there a way to make sure they are all saved to one account and then transfer them over by just logging into that account on the Note 3?

Also, are there any must-have accessories for the Note 3 I should know of? I've seen the wireless chargers - do you have to have a special case for these to work, or do some of them work with the phone and a normal leather (or similar) case?

Any help would be appreciated!
Cheers
1st April 2014, 01:05 PM |#2  
Dejan Sathanas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hell
Thanks Meter: 2,884
 
More
Google search maybe ?

Sent from my N9005
The Following User Says Thank You to Dejan Sathanas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 07:19 PM |#3  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,099
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonno92

I'm going to buy a Note 3 tomorrow and I'd like to transfer my contacts from my S3 to it. Most of my contacts are saved to my Samsung account but I think some are on my Google Account.

Is there a way to make sure they are all saved to one account and then transfer them over by just logging into that account on the Note 3?

Also, are there any must-have accessories for the Note 3 I should know of? I've seen the wireless chargers - do you have to have a special case for these to work, or do some of them work with the phone and a normal leather (or similar) case?

Any help would be appreciated!
Cheers

Since u still have ur s3, why don't u sync everything to google or samsung before u disown it.



Sent from N9005 NC2 ROM.
1st April 2014, 10:12 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonno92

I'm going to buy a Note 3 tomorrow and I'd like to transfer my contacts from my S3 to it. Most of my contacts are saved to my Samsung account but I think some are on my Google Account.

Is there a way to make sure they are all saved to one account and then transfer them over by just logging into that account on the Note 3?

Also, are there any must-have accessories for the Note 3 I should know of? I've seen the wireless chargers - do you have to have a special case for these to work, or do some of them work with the phone and a normal leather (or similar) case?

Any help would be appreciated!
Cheers

You just need to log in on your samsung and google accounts on the note and ull have all your contacts there, even apps can be auto downloaded to your new phone.

for accesories i whould recomend the spigen neo hybrid case, its a great looking case.
2nd April 2014, 09:57 AM |#5  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
And alternatively if you're lacking an internet connection: Contacts --> Optionkey --> Import/Export.
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 11:05 AM |#6  
antique_sonic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Corner of the earth
Thanks Meter: 1,099
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

And alternatively if you're lacking an internet connection: Contacts --> Optionkey --> Import/Export.

For contact yes. But... have u experienced everytime u restore the contact from ur backup, ot always become double nd double? But not to all contacts. Some of them. Eversince my s series is always like that. I am a rom flasher maniac. And my contact keep on growing everytime I restore. Hahahaha. Not big issue, just curious.

Sent from N7105, powered by DittoNote3 v.3.2 with AGNi PSN purestock v3.9.3 OC
2nd April 2014, 11:09 AM |#7  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antique_sonic

For contact yes. But... have u experienced everytime u restore the contact from ur backup, ot always become double nd double? But not to all contacts. Some of them. Eversince my s series is always like that. I am a rom flasher maniac. And my contact keep on growing everytime I restore. Hahahaha. Not big issue, just curious.

Sent from N7105, powered by DittoNote3 v.3.2 with AGNi PSN purestock v3.9.3 OC

If the contact already exists it adds a duplicate, yes. And if I show the Google, Samsung and SIM contacts at the same time as the restored ones.. Well, everyone shows up 4 times
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 11:13 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Thanks guys.

All the contacts came over form Google and Samsung but I couldn't figure out how to get the 60 contacts from Samsung to merge with the 700 contacts on Google so that they were all on Google rather than some on one and some on another.

It doesn't really matter now but if I stop using Samsung Account I'd like them all to be on Google..

Cheers
2nd April 2014, 11:31 AM |#9  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonno92

Thanks guys.

All the contacts came over form Google and Samsung but I couldn't figure out how to get the 60 contacts from Samsung to merge with the 700 contacts on Google so that they were all on Google rather than some on one and some on another.

It doesn't really matter now but if I stop using Samsung Account I'd like them all to be on Google..

Cheers

Contacts --> Optionkey --> Merge Accounts? I'm a little hesitant to try it myself, as I have only my Samsung account set to display and my Google account has a load of contacts I do not want on my phone...
The Following User Says Thank You to ShadowLea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 02:51 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

Contacts --> Optionkey --> Merge Accounts? I'm a little hesitant to try it myself, as I have only my Samsung account set to display and my Google account has a load of contacts I do not want on my phone...

The merge account doesn't work well. There's always wrong account merging which is a headache to clean up
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes