Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,397 Members 46,258 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] verizon s4 sch-i545 flashing or unlocking to use on straight talk

Tip us?

robquillan
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] verizon s4 sch-i545 flashing or unlocking to use on straight talk

Hello, I am new to xda this is my first post so I hope I put it in the right place.
I bought an s4 from a private seller assuming that because it wa a verizon and that means cdma where I live , that I would be able to activate it as a cdma straight talk phone with the activation kit from straight talk ,
I tried but it when I get to the part of the ctivation were it askes for my sim card to be put in the phone ........I get lost because I thought cdma Verizon required no sim,
so I think this means that they want to activate my phone as a gsm phone ...... this wont get any service in my area I need cdma.

so I went and had my phone flashed ....with a donor phone and it works but I hate it the pic messaging is all screwed up ....I just want a stock feel and not to have to you third party apps to txt

BIG question.. is it possible to reflash my phone back to stock and activate it the right way? if not are there any s4's that straight talk will accept under the cdma ?
I know this is a mess but any input would be great thanks in advance

Oishikatta
Old
Thanks Meter 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by robquillan View Post
Hello, I am new to xda this is my first post so I hope I put it in the right place.
I bought an s4 from a private seller assuming that because it wa a verizon and that means cdma where I live , that I would be able to activate it as a cdma straight talk phone with the activation kit from straight talk ,
I tried but it when I get to the part of the ctivation were it askes for my sim card to be put in the phone ........I get lost because I thought cdma Verizon required no sim,