Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problem with Gapps, running CM11 latest nightly

OP beramiah

2nd April 2014, 07:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I'm having a serious issue with my Google Apps recently. My stock rom updated over OTA so I had to re-root/reinstall CM11, and when I was installing Google Apps it failed a few times and then worked.

The problem I'm having is that Android Device Manager will be very inaccurate (up to 2,400 meters), and sometimes won't find the device at all. When I am running my stock rom the ADM finds the device very accurately (<10 meters).

I just re-flashed/reinstalled everything and I'm still getting the same issue. Any suggestions?

Thanks
2nd April 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 99
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Well, depending on how much time you have on your hands, and everything is backed up. You could use mattlgrof's utility to flash your firmware back to stock, reroot, dont accept OTA, then freeze the OTAupdater with an app like Titanuim backup so you don't get/have to worry about accidently accepting the OTA. And you wouldn't be bothered with the notifications if you use the stock ROM This works even better if CM11 is your daily driver, and you don't really use stock. I assume you are on BMM? If you are on safestrap, you can flash the stock slot with CM11.

If you still have the problem, you will at least know it wasn't the OTA.
Last edited by Draxin; 2nd April 2014 at 08:17 PM.
2nd April 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
So you think the problem would be fixed if I simply flashed CM on my stock slot? I'm pretty sure it was the OTA that screwed everything up. I am on safestrap.
2nd April 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 99
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beramiah

So you think the problem would be fixed if I simply flashed CM on my stock slot? I'm pretty sure it was the OTA that screwed everything up. I am on safestrap.

Make a backup and try it. Custom ROM's don't recieve OTA's so... If you flash right now, and the problem persists, THEN use Mattlgrof's utility and blah blah blah, so didn't recieve the OTA, and try then. As long as you used safestrap correctly, the only thing you can lose is time.
The Following User Says Thank You to Draxin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
If i recovered my stock slot to the point BEFORE i received the OTA, would that undo all the OTA changes that screwed up my phone?
2nd April 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #6  
tydiamond11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 197
 
1,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beramiah

If i recovered my stock slot to the point BEFORE i received the OTA, would that undo all the OTA changes that screwed up my phone?

I do not think it has anything to do with the stock slot I have only slimkat in my stock slot and my android device is so far away it is worthless I use avast .

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to tydiamond11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 08:39 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 99
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
My assumptions would be yes if you had one. At that point, me personally, after verifying OTA wasnt there, I would go back to safestrap and reflash cm11 and gapps. I don't know what difference it would make. I personally am always hinky about dirty flashes and such, so if I think one thing might be affecting something else I wipe and replace both. So I don't upgrade ROMs and kernels much... A lot of time setting everything back up

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 11:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:35 AM ----------

Wait you are on a xt912 right?

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Draxin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 99
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Out of curiosity, are you guys using xprivacy? If so, have you checked to make sure it isn't manipulating GPS for those apps?

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 12:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:01 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tydiamond11

The one thing about avast is it uses root. Idk about gotya can you let me know.

No, it is strictly a security app, so permissions for camera, messaging, and GPS. *edit* and gmail account

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Draxin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
So I recovered my pre-ota phone and installed CM11 on my slot 1 again. No problem installing gapps, however the android device manager is still having problems communicating with my device. I will try using Avast for now.
The Following User Says Thank You to beramiah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd April 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #10  
tydiamond11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 197
 
1,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draxin

Out of curiosity, are you guys using xprivacy? If so, have you checked to make sure it isn't manipulating GPS for those apps?

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 12:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:01 PM ----------



No, it is strictly a security app, so permissions for camera, messaging, and GPS. *edit* and gmail account

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

I am not using xprivacy lol I got tired of all the changing settings I thought so about gotya

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 02:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:34 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by beramiah

So I recovered my pre-ota phone and installed CM11 on my slot 1 again. No problem installing gapps, however the android device manager is still having problems communicating with my device. I will try using Avast for now.

yes try avast anti teft it works great but first download the normal avast and click on advanced setup and chose root.

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes