Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,673 Members 40,937 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL][A700][04/10] Z-Kernel Beta

Tip us?
 
Ziyan
Old
(Last edited by Ziyan; 8th May 2014 at 07:39 PM.)
#1  
Ziyan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Szentes, Hungary

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [KERNEL][A700][04/10] Z-Kernel Beta

Welcome to Z-Kernel's thread!

Features - as of r1:
- CPU OC to 1.6 ghz by default (should be stable)
- GPU OC support up to 700MHz (default is 520 mhz)
- Overclocked LP core from 500 to 620 mhz
- Custom user voltage control for CPU and Core components such as EMC, GPU, and LP (faux123)
- Dynamic FSYNC
- Optimized KSM
- Optimized ZRAM
- Compiled using latest Linaro toolchain with optimized compiler flags
- Optimized SLUB and use SLUB by default instead of SLAB
- Glibc memcpy and memmove
- Deadline improvements for solid state drives
- Proportional Rate Reduction for TCP
- Tegra 3 variant display (faux123)
- Optimized swahb32 byteswap helper
- Asynchronous I/O latency improved through removal of plug in do_io_submit()
- allow use of an I/O controller's native max block size
- Optimized ARM RWSEM algorithm
- timer: optimize apply_slack()
- Optimized crypto algorithms
- Optimized AES and SHA1 routines
- LowMemoryKiller fixes and improvements
- Lock performance governor to all 4 cores
- Many scheduler improvements and optimizations
- updated bcmdhd driver (wifi)
- over 450 changes committed, so the above list isn't complete

Complete list of changes can be found in the commit log: https://github.com/Ziyann/android_kernel_acer_t30

Bugs - as of r1:
- The CPU will work one step below the set max frequency (because tegra 3 "turbo mode", which is useless and have been disabled)
- If you change min/max CPU frequencies, they become bugged to 1150 mhz and you'll have to reboot to restore. Solution: don't change them. The current 102/1700 (actually 102/1600 because the above) mhz is optimal, and shouldn't cause noticeable heat and battery drain (and we have thermal protection even if that'd happen...). Besides that, the Tegra 3 is originally "Up to 1.7 GHz single core /1.6 GHz quad-core" according to NVIDIA specs.
- Trickster mod showing different MPU frequencies/voltages than the ones avaliable. Explanation here
- Got any other bug? Report! Dmesg/kmsg/last_dmesg/last_kmsg/logcat (whatever you have) are welcome.

Recommended settings
- I recommend using Trickster Mod for changing settings
- ZRAM: experiment with it. It's been been almost completely replaced with the one from the latest Linux kernel, so it's way faster than before
- Dynamic FSync: turn it off if you do anything that can cause instability (UV). While it speeds up the filesystem, it can cause data loss on random system crashes.
- You need to experiment with the rest of the settings, as I can rarely access the device to play with them

Thanks to
- Everyone who's name can be seen in the commit log, lol
- Special thanks to faux123 and Metallice from the N7 forums, many of their work has been used in this kernel
- Testers - I rarely have access to this device, I need you guys!


I'm not responsible if anything bad happens with your device!

This build has been tested on CM11 only, so if you run into something with other ROMs, report it and I will see what I need to change to cooperate with it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip z-kernel-r1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.83 MB, 183 views)
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Ziyan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Shreps
Old
#2  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 524
Posts: 393
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice, if it's working fine, I hope you will also support the A510/A511
* Acer Liquid S100 (LCR E/S/F, LiquidNext)
* Samsung Galaxy S2 (7comp)
* Acer Iconia A510 (CM10*, CM11, AOKP, 7comp)
* Acer CloudMobile S500 (CM 10, 7comp, MIUI)
* Acer Liquid E1 V360 (Root)
* Acer Liquid E2 V370 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Iconia A1-810 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid S1 S510 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Aspire P3 i3 (Dual boot : Windows 8 + Android 4.2.2 Root)
* Acer Liquid S2 S520 (Root + custom UI/framework)
* Acer Liquid E3 E380 (Root + custom UI/framework)
 
Ziyan
Old
(Last edited by Ziyan; 3rd April 2014 at 03:48 PM.)
#3  
Ziyan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Szentes, Hungary

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shreps View Post
Nice, if it's working fine, I hope you will also support the A510/A511
Of course, I'll see what can I do when I get everything (OC, UV, ...) working here waiting for a tester...
The Following User Says Thank You to Ziyan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sterist
Old
(Last edited by Sterist; 4th April 2014 at 02:31 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 298
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Galaxy S, quadrant 2
it is indeed slow. even when completely debloated plus stripped of "essential" system components that I personally do not use. I will try this right away. will report back within an hour in this post.


@Ziyan
it boots, runs, everything seems standard. not seeing any performance increases though. same ol' 10 to 15 fps is there anything more you wish for me to test with it? I replaced this tab a while ago with galaxy note pro 12.2 so I can't really use it enough to check for random reboots
Error 4.0.4 Android Not Found!

Please check your internet connection and don't spam the forums trying to figure this one out.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sterist For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ziyan
Old
#5  
Ziyan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Szentes, Hungary

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sterist View Post
@Ziyan
it boots, runs, everything seems standard. not seeing any performance increases though. same ol' 10 to 15 fps is there anything more you wish for me to test with it? I replaced this tab a while ago with galaxy note pro 12.2 so I can't really use it enough to check for random reboots
Thanks, that's good, it means I can continue improving it. I need to check the kernel periodically after a big bunch of commits, because if something gets broken, it can be hard to find what causes it if from a thousand things I'll push a new version and changelog later today or tomorrow.
 
Sterist
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 298
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Galaxy S, quadrant 2
sounds good. quote this post when it's uploaded, it'll send me am email notification and I can get right on it.
Error 4.0.4 Android Not Found!

Please check your internet connection and don't spam the forums trying to figure this one out.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sterist For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
peter_altherr
Old
#7  
peter_altherr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 157
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Diriomo, Granada

 
DONATE TO ME
ziyan, your kernel makes me thinking i have a whole new a700. it is much more responsive as before.

thanks a lot for your work.


greetings

peter


Sent from my A700 using XDA Premium HD app
LG O4X HD V20D (unlocked, rooted, TWRP 2.7.0.1, cm11-nightlies)
Acer Iconia A700 (unlocked, rooted, TWRP 2.7.0.0, pawitp-cm11-nightlies)
The Following User Says Thank You to peter_altherr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dadecamp
Old
#8  
dadecamp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: casa grande
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziyan View Post
Welcome to Z-Kernel's thread!

This build has been tested on CM11 only, so if you run into something with other ROMs, report it and I will see what I need to change to cooperate with it.
I wanted to let you know that I am on the Pac Man Rom but can't get this to boot. Freezes up. Will have to try cm11 .

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
dadecamp
Old
#9  
dadecamp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: casa grande
Ok, so I went back to cm11 but after flashing kernel it booted all the way but got a "google system error" message and it froze. I rebooted but would freeze on cm logo.
What am I doing wrong?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
 
Ziyan
Old
#10  
Ziyan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Szentes, Hungary

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadecamp View Post
Ok, so I went back to cm11 but after flashing kernel it booted all the way but got a "google system error" message and it froze. I rebooted but would freeze on cm logo.
What am I doing wrong?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Did you do a factory reset after switching to CM11? If not, please make a backup (so you can get back your things if it won't work), do and then flash CM11 again with this kernel only. If it doesn't work, I'll make a special build for you test
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes