Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

trying to return to stock for upgrade

OP ryche316

5th April 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Bronx, New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I have been stuck for days now trying to get my HTC ONE on AT&T back to stock so I can upgrade to KitKat
I am at the point where I got the bootloader relocked and I'm trying to install the RUU zip. Everytime I try to install it I get an error saying signature failure. I thought I may have been using the incorrect RUU file and have tried several both zip files and exe files and no luck. (phone is at a black screen with the HTC logo going across it ) also I am unable to access CWM

I am running a stock 4.1.2 HTC sense 5.0 software number 1.26.502.12


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0G0hKY4P9Y

the above link is to the tutorial I was following

any help would be greatly appreciated
5th April 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
4,687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryche316

I have been stuck for days now trying to get my HTC ONE on AT&T back to stock so I can upgrade to KitKat
I am at the point where I got the bootloader relocked and I'm trying to install the RUU zip. Everytime I try to install it I get an error saying signature failure. I thought I may have been using the incorrect RUU file and have tried several both zip files and exe files and no luck. (phone is at a black screen with the HTC logo going across it ) also I am unable to access CWM

I am running a stock 4.1.2 HTC sense 5.0 software number 1.26.502.12


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0G0hKY4P9Y

the above link is to the tutorial I was following

any help would be greatly appreciated

Try this file
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...1_signed_2.exe

followed by s-off with Rumrunner
then flash this RUU..
http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_u..._signed_2-exe/

you should get the kitkat OTA after that
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2014, 11:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Bronx, New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

Try this file
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...1_signed_2.exe

followed by s-off with Rumrunner
then flash this RUU..
http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_u..._signed_2-exe/

you should get the kitkat OTA after that

OK I downloaded all the necessary files from the links ( thank you )
I went to install the exe from the 1st link and it goes through all the motions but then I get a message saying ERROR {155} UNKNOWN ERROR The ROM Update Utility cannot update your Android Phone Please get the correct ROM update utility and try again
6th April 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
4,687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
The you don't have the Android version you listed or your bootloader is not locked

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Bronx, New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

The you don't have the Android version you listed or your bootloader is not locked

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Android version is correct I double checked. I will recheck the bootloader. Hopefully that is it
6th April 2014, 01:37 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Bronx, New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I rechecked the bootloader and it was unlocked, not sure how it got unlocked again, but I relocked it. I ran the ROM upgrade and it went through with no problems. I ran rumrunner and it failed after the 2nd test and said device is not rooted, and the last exe file launches and throws up an error right away. I tried an OTA and it says no updates
I went back into the bootloader and it says relocked and the tamper is gone, so progress was made
I can get into the stock recovery mode. I select apply from phone storage ( where kitkat zip is located ) but then the phone reboots instead of giving me a menu to scroll through so I can select the KitKat zip file.
Last edited by ryche316; 6th April 2014 at 04:31 AM.
7th April 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Bronx, New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Guess it took a while but my phone finally went though an OTA successfully !! Thank You !!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes