Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Thinking of going to Verizon after getting the M8

OP Varekai

6th April 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #1  
Varekai's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
I have been with sprint for 8 years now. Just got the M8 for the new spark network that according to sprints coverage map, I was fully covered in. We'll, that's not the case. Been having a lot of problems, mainly if I drop to 3g, I actually have no data and no phone calls and can't send texts . I have to wait until I'm in an area that I think may have spark, and reboot my phone. Then I get a flood of text messages and voice mails. This has been going on 3 days now. Apparently this is a mass problem that could be a while to fix. I still have ten days to return it and reverse my contract. Sprint is so bad that if I'm somewhere I don't know where I'm at and try to pull up a route on maps, it will fail to pull anything up, or search for a route until it says no connection, even with 4 bars. It's hard for me to leave since I've been with them for 8 years, but I'm really getting tired of it. Would like to know of anyone else is considering this, or may have left Verizon for sprint and why.
6th April 2014, 07:18 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varekai

I have been with sprint for 8 years now. Just got the M8 for the new spark network that according to sprints coverage map, I was fully covered in. We'll, that's not the case. Been having a lot of problems, mainly if I drop to 3g, I actually have no data and no phone calls and can't send texts . I have to wait until I'm in an area that I think may have spark, and reboot my phone. Then I get a flood of text messages and voice mails. This has been going on 3 days now. Apparently this is a mass problem that could be a while to fix. I still have ten days to return it and reverse my contract. Sprint is so bad that if I'm somewhere I don't know where I'm at and try to pull up a route on maps, it will fail to pull anything up, or search for a route until it says no connection, even with 4 bars. It's hard for me to leave since I've been with them for 8 years, but I'm really getting tired of it. Would like to know of anyone else is considering this, or may have left Verizon for sprint and why.

I've been with Sprint a while too. Just LTE in my area, works great though. I'll see whenever spark comes to my area. Have you talked to sprint about this problem? Possibly a defective phone or your tower's messed up. Do you have the same issues on CDMA only mode?
The Following User Says Thank You to hazmad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 08:10 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 240
 
1,361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
Not sure it's possible but I wonder if loading the right PRL might disable Spark. Or there is a way to shut it off in the phone settings.

LTE is still up and down for me so I leave my phone on CDMA 99% of the tie for stability.

Most places that I need speed I have WIFI.

LTE just isn't there yet.

I'm on hairy edge at home and hairy edge at work (both places I don't need it).

Even when I'm in strong LTE areas if you hit a 3G pocket the phone behaves badly.

Have not had it long enough to know if it's better or worse than HTC One M7.

But I switched it to CDMA.

I just loaded PRL 56018. So it roams on VWZ (3G only).
6th April 2014, 08:42 AM   |  #4  
MassStash's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,530
 
3,006 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varekai

I have been with sprint for 8 years now. Just got the M8 for the new spark network that according to sprints coverage map, I was fully covered in. We'll, that's not the case. Been having a lot of problems, mainly if I drop to 3g, I actually have no data and no phone calls and can't send texts . I have to wait until I'm in an area that I think may have spark, and reboot my phone. Then I get a flood of text messages and voice mails. This has been going on 3 days now. Apparently this is a mass problem that could be a while to fix. I still have ten days to return it and reverse my contract. Sprint is so bad that if I'm somewhere I don't know where I'm at and try to pull up a route on maps, it will fail to pull anything up, or search for a route until it says no connection, even with 4 bars. It's hard for me to leave since I've been with them for 8 years, but I'm really getting tired of it. Would like to know of anyone else is considering this, or may have left Verizon for sprint and why.

Go switch out the phone, another guy just did this in another thread Cuz his LTE wasn't working at all

~m8whl modded stock
2.265 Max 300 Min
ondemand
row
6th April 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
I had to switch my phone for the same reason you just stated. I don't have these issues anymore.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to domotang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #6  
Sim-X's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 128
 
556 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I have had sprint over 10 years now. Only reason I stay is I'm on Sero Premium. The network is absolutely horrible in my area. Dropped calls, week signal, 1X/3G/4G no data. I'm sticking it out for Spark & hoping 800 LTE will fix the coverage issues. The m8 has had better signal and seems to lock on a lot quicker. So far haven't had that many issues with it besides the network still sucking of course. If you don't have a good plan on Sprint I would leave. I think it will get better over time but it's still going to be a while yet. I have had problems since last July.
6th April 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #7  
Success100's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 207
 
1,856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I left Verizon because of the ridiculous bills I kept getting. Boy is their network amazing. Signal and LTE everywhere.

Got the Sprint HTC one m8. I mean Sprint is just terrible. LTE barely works barely have a signal anywhere. Love the phone but only on WiFi around the City

Sent from my 831C using xda app-developers app
6th April 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #8  
reverepats's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Boston,MA
Thanks Meter: 5,325
 
6,424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Success100

I left Verizon because of the ridiculous bills I kept getting. Boy is their network amazing. Signal and LTE everywhere.

Got the Sprint HTC one m8. I mean Sprint is just terrible. LTE barely works barely have a signal anywhere. Love the phone but only on WiFi around the City

Sent from my 831C using xda app-developers app

Same here. I got I think 9 people on my Sprint family plan, we've had Sprint for over 10 years now. I left for Verizon when the galaxy Nexus was relleased. Man, I loved Verizon, but my bill was upwards of $120 per month. Luckily I got to deal where if yo bought 2 or 5 GB plan, they would double it. So i had 10 GB of data at that time. The service was unbelievable, but I hated the price. So after 9 months, I came back to Sprint. Here in Boston, the service is great, but I've also seen a sporadic in and out connectivity.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
6th April 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
The issue I'm having us that while on lte I'm not receiving calls..

Sent from my 831C using xda app-developers app
8th April 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #10  
Varekai's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Well I made the leap. Went from 03mb to 21mb at work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes