Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 41,594 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S3 wont turn on or charge but connects to the computer

Tip us?
 
n023b
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Galaxy S3 wont turn on or charge but connects to the computer

Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649
 
n023b
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
anyone?
 
brianray14
Old
#3  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 767
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
Hello, I have an sgh-i747 it was running task650s rom and one day it just randomly shut off. I tried everything and was told to buy a jig to put the phone into download mode. I bought a jig, plugged it in, still nothing. When I plug it into the computer it shows up as QHSUSB_DLOAD #3 (im using a mac).

What should I do next? All I did was plug the jig into the USB but nothing happened.

This is the jig I bought
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/271353549321?...84.m1497.l2649
Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________
Gunmetal Silver HTC ONE M8 AT&T - UNLOCKED S-OFF
ROM : STOCK 4.4.2
Hboot : 3.16.0.0000
OS : 1.58.502.1
Radio : 1.16.21331931.LA11G
Recovery : TWRP Touch Recovery v2.7.0.2
Kernel : STOCK
MOD : Sense 6 Toolbox
 
n023b
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianray14 View Post
Is your warranty up? Did you try a different battery? Sounds like a hardware failure. How long were you running tasks650 before the problem occurred? Did you flash the ROM that is specific to AT&T? You could try contacting josh at mobiletechvideos.com. Head to his site and chat with him as he's quite knowledgeable. I don't use a mac so i'd have no idea what that error code means. Sorry i wasn't much help. Good luck
-Warranty is long gone.
-Yup tried a different battery and a different charger
-I've been running the rom for over 2 years
-Yes it was the correct one
-tHANKS ill give him a try
-I dont think its an error code its just what the device shows up in mac
 
n023b
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?
 
Larry2999
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by n023b View Post
When I plug in the phone without the battery the orange light pops up does that mean its not a charging problem?
It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.
 
n023b
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 142
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
It does sound like a hardware rather than firmware issue. Did you try another battery in the phone or try the current battery in another device? If it isn't something as simple as a completely dead battery, it could be a short somewhere on the motherboard.
Yup tried another battery and tried the current battery in another phone and it worked fine.

I did change the sim card reader when I first got the phone like 2 years ago maybe something is shorting out the MB now I'll check it out
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more