Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,908 Members 53,591 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Should I flash my G900I with a G900F ROM?

Tip us?
 
gjlamb
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 72
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default [Q] Should I flash my G900I with a G900F ROM?

I've flashed many different ROMs over the years and never had issues but I was curious as to whether the different modem in another variant would cause issues with LTE?

The G900I I have has it's dock locked so can't change anything and the always on voice (Hi Galaxy from sleep) doesn't work. These 2 issues seem common with the G900I. Here in Australia our LTE bands seem different to most other countries so I need to know if I screw with the baseband etc, will I have issues with network speed?

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to gjlamb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XdividerX
Old
(Last edited by XdividerX; 16th April 2014 at 07:33 PM.)
#2  
XdividerX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 108
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney
I have the G900I and here's what I did to get around the locked dock.

Root the rom using cf-root and modify the following.

Open the /system/csc/others.xml file and change TRUE to FALSE on the following line:

<CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode> TRUE</CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode>

And while your at it, to enable gallery auto rotate after root, do the following in the same others.xml file

"<CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>TRUE</CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>" and change TRUE to FALSE.

Save your changes, reboot

As for using another rom, I'd wait until development is churning out lots of rom variations.

Sent from my SM-G900I.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to XdividerX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
trevagreene
Old
#3  
trevagreene's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by XdividerX View Post
I have the G900I and here's what I did to get around the locked dock.

Root the rom using cf-root and modify the following.

Open the /system/csc/others.xml file and change TRUE to FALSE on the following line:

<CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode> TRUE</CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode>

And while your at it, to enable gallery auto rotate after root, do the following in the same others.xml file

"<CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>TRUE</CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>" and change TRUE to FALSE.

Save your changes, reboot

As for using another rom, I'd wait until development is churning out lots of rom variations.

Sent from my SM-G900I.
Will this also allow us to move the "apps draw" icon in the dock ? the one which is firmly planted on the right hand side ?
 
antigravity
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 53
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by XdividerX View Post
I have the G900I and here's what I did to get around the locked dock.

Root the rom using cf-root and modify the following.
Hmmm interesting... What about the lockscreen camera?

I'm about to flash the Taiwanese firmware to my Telstra Galaxy - it is a G900I however it has all the features unlocked.
 
gjlamb
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 72
Join Date: Aug 2007
For the time being I've just gone the easy way and installed Google Now launcher and Cover lock screen replacement. Good thing about cover is that I turn the phone to landscape and the camera shortcut appears. Nice addition.

Still doesn't get me the always on voice activation tho. The main reason I went with the S5 is because the Moto X was only released with 16GB and no SD.
 
osaka.son
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by antigravity View Post
Hmmm interesting... What about the lockscreen camera?

I'm about to flash the Taiwanese firmware to my Telstra Galaxy - it is a G900I however it has all the features unlocked.
but taiwan rom doesnt have download booster

---------- Post added at 02:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:20 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb33 View Post
Just a heads up op I tried to flash a 900f firmware (uk btu) and it failed straight away possible from a locked bootloader on the aussie phones. So that doesnt help but if you edit the replace hotseat string to false you can move the dock icons to whatever you like. I would also like to know if the taiwanese firmware would work on our 900i's. Hope this helps

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
is work if your G900I flash Taiwan G900I rom, is only error when using G900I mobile Flash G900F Rom...
taiwan rom is goot, unless no download booster
 
trevagreene
Old
#7  
trevagreene's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by XdividerX View Post
I have the G900I and here's what I did to get around the locked dock.

Root the rom using cf-root and modify the following.

Open the /system/csc/others.xml file and change TRUE to FALSE on the following line:

<CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode> TRUE</CscFeature_Launcher_ReplaceHotseatAreaInEditMode>

And while your at it, to enable gallery auto rotate after root, do the following in the same others.xml file

"<CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>TRUE</CscFeature_Gallery_AddAutoRotationIcon>" and change TRUE to FALSE.

Save your changes, reboot

As for using another rom, I'd wait until development is churning out lots of rom variations.

Sent from my SM-G900I.
I tried to edit this file in ES Explorer but it wouldn't allow me to save it. Can you let me know what you used to edit it ?
 
johnnyb33
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 86
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevagreene View Post
I tried to edit this file in ES Explorer but it wouldn't allow me to save it. Can you let me know what you used to edit it ?
Use root explorer and make sure you mount it as read write

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
 
trevagreene
Old
#9  
trevagreene's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb33 View Post
Use root explorer and make sure you mount it as read write

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
ok, thanks, but / is mounted as read only. so presumably we need to do something via the pc mount / as rw ?? or are you suggesting that root explorer can do all this ?
 
XdividerX
Old
#10  
XdividerX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 108
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney
trevagreene, no. The app drawer icon cannot be moved by the method described.

Sent from my SM-G900I
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes