FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Request] Tetherig Enable

21st April 2014, 10:46 PM |#1  
Pure+'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
Problem solved. You can head over to my thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2733561
Here and get it yourself.
Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Last edited by Pure+; 28th April 2014 at 02:20 PM.
22nd April 2014, 01:55 AM |#2  
S550's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure+

Would it be possible for someone to make a Recovery flashable zip that would enable the native tethering?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Why don't you run one of the custom ROM's that have tethering enabled?
22nd April 2014, 02:26 AM |#3  
Pure+'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S550

Why don't you run one of the custom ROM's that have tethering enabled?

I don't really want to run a rom. I would like to stay stock and still have the feature.
22nd April 2014, 03:44 AM |#4  
RealAnthonyCamp's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Middle Village, NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
I installed the Viper One M8 ROM today and it enabled my hotspot without me having to call AT&T

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
23rd April 2014, 11:13 PM |#5  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Yea, the viper Rom is nice but I use to use es file explorer to enable tether. It was kind of a pain but worked.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
24th April 2014, 12:11 AM |#6  
Pure+'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000

Yea, the viper Rom is nice but I use to use es file explorer to enable tether. It was kind of a pain but worked.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Mind sharing the method you used. Kind of a step by step?
24th April 2014, 01:48 AM |#7  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure+

Mind sharing the method you used. Kind of a step by step?

Sure, once you open ES file explorer tap the button located in the top left corner. Than click tools, than net manager. Than click create a hot spot network. Once you do this a window will pop up that says something on the lines of "hot spot activated". You'll also see a 7 character or so generated password for your network. Use that password to connect device to your hotspot. Click exit to end session. Oh yea, your phone's WiFi needs to be turned off when using. I'll provide screen shots when I'm home if need be.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nash2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 07:33 PM |#8  
Member
Flag Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000

Sure, once you open ES file explorer tap the button located in the top left corner. Than click tools, than net manager. Than click create a hot spot network. Once you do this a window will pop up that says something on the lines of "hot spot activated". You'll also see a 7 character or so generated password for your network. Use that password to connect device to your hotspot. Click exit to end session. Oh yea, your phone's WiFi needs to be turned off when using. I'll provide screen shots when I'm home if need be.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I just tried this, and ES File Explorer gave me an error "To enable mobile hotspot on this device, go to att.com/mywireless or dial 611"

I'm running rooted stock. It may be dependent on your data plan. I'm still on AT&T's old unlimited data.
24th April 2014, 09:23 PM |#9  
miller_kid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 398
 
More
pulled.........

I'll try to stop helping out...
Last edited by miller_kid; 25th April 2014 at 03:11 AM.
24th April 2014, 09:24 PM |#10  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakerx

I just tried this, and ES File Explorer gave me an error "To enable mobile hotspot on this device, go to att.com/mywireless or dial 611"

I'm running rooted stock. It may be dependent on your data plan. I'm still on AT&T's old unlimited data.

I'd get that error all the time with my s4 but not with the one. Once I'd get that error I'd just hit the phone's home key then go back in the app and it would work and it would show the network code. Give it another shot...when you hit create hotspot look in your nav bar for the hotspot notifier. If you see that then it's activated.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes