Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,985 Members 54,292 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stuck on CWM when trying to install CM10.2.1

Tip us?
 
NyphoX
Old
(Last edited by NyphoX; 25th April 2014 at 08:19 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Stuck on CWM when trying to install CM10.2.1

Hello,
I got this HTC One X from AT&T (->evita) and tried to get CM 10.2.1 running on that.

The steps I made:
Boot into bootloader, go to fastboot, then get the identifier, get unlock token via htcdev and unlocked it with fastboot.
I then flashed CWM 6.0.4.6 for evita via "fastboot flash recovery *filename*". Now I booted into CWM (recovery) and wiped everything instead of first trying to copy the cm.zip onto the sdcard. (I also didnt do this when the stock ROM was still running...)

Now I can access the phone via fastboot in the bootloader but I can not use adb or the USB mount when in CWM. Whenever I plug the phone into my computer (or laptop, doesn't matter. Also tried switching between USB 2 and 3 ports!) Windows keeps making the "unplugged" sound every second.

Reinstalling the latest HTC drivers did not change anything.

Anyone here knows a way how I can stop that or get the zip file on the memory? I also tried flashing the boot.img on boot and tested if I can copy the file then through CWM but that did not work.

Hoping,
NyphoX
 
timmaaa
Old
#2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5289
Posts: 11,407
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Not sure if it'll work but try using TWRP recovery instead:

http://goo.im/devs/OpenRecovery/evita

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
NyphoX
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Installed the most recent version.

I get into the recovry and when I plug it into a computer Windows will keep making the "unplugged"-noise.
I can see the sdcard-directory perfectly when I hit install in both, TWRP and CWM but when I want to mount it via USB it will not change anything and I cannot access it on my PC.

adb doesn't list any device either.

Also, TWRP and CWM keep telling me that my phone is not rooted, when I try to power off or restart. Is that normal?

My other HTC One X (non AT&T) just works fine with cwm 5.*.*.*
 
timmaaa
Old
#4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5289
Posts: 11,407
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
It's normal for the recovery to inform you that you're not rooted, it'll suggest that you install superuser but there's no point doing that in your case because you have no working OS installed. Did you at any point perform a factory reset from the bootloader? If so, you've corrupted the internal storage (known bug on modified Evitas) and will need to wipe it with TWRP.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
NyphoX
Old
(Last edited by NyphoX; 25th April 2014 at 08:57 PM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Saw that in your Q&A.

I wiped the internal_sd and tested it after but it still did not work. I also tried a factory reset through TWRP but that did not help either.

Both recovery programs keep telling me "E:Unable to mount '/cache'.

Still not working. Q_Q
 
NyphoX
Old
(Last edited by NyphoX; 25th April 2014 at 10:17 PM.)
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Update: I got like the oldest laptop I ever owned and installed the most recent HTC drivers there and tried to mount it. It told me in device manager that the "evita" is not recognized. When I let Windows search automatically it installed the drivers and I am now able to access the memory.

I can only assume what the problem was but it seems like the HTC One X (endeavoru) driver and the evita don't like each other...

TL;DR trying to install now. Will edit.

//EDIT: Windows still screws when I plug the phone to the other computer/laptop, so I just have to use the old machine now. Still thanks for your help, timmaaa!

//EDIT: It does work when I booted CM and enable the USB storage at the other two machines.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more