Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

I'm going to trade my device in for another device should I unroot it first

OP xda23

29th April 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #1  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
29th April 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #2  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I don't have access to a computer. Can I unroot without a computer. Please help!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-develops
29th April 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 139
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
If you are using Jump, I wouldn't bother to unroot.

Just do a factory reset, and be done with it.

I just traded in my Wife's S4 that was rooted for an s5 on the jump program, and they don't check that type of thing.
The Following User Says Thank You to idtheftvictim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #4  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by idtheftvictim

If you are using Jump, I wouldn't bother to unroot.

Just do a factory reset, and be done with it.

I just traded in my Wife's S4 that was rooted for an s5 on the jump program, and they don't check that type of thing.

I'm not using jump I'm just trading my device in for a Gs5.so I should be fine with just doing a factory reset.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
29th April 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #5  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 3,109
 
5,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up re: root
Quote:
Originally Posted by xda23

I don't have access to a computer. Can I unroot without a computer. Please help!!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-develops

Using a root capable file manager you can delete
the superuser.apk in the /system/app folder.

After doing that you will no longer have root.

Good luck!
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterjunky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #6  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky

Using a root capable file manager you can delete
the superuser.apk in the /system/app folder.

After doing that you will no longer have root.

Good luck!

Thanks bud I will do that.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
29th April 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #7  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky

Using a root capable file manager you can delete
the superuser.apk in the /system/app folder.

After doing that you will no longer have root.

Good luck!

Hey if U delete superuser.apk can I just re add superuser.apk to reroot my device. Thanks

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
29th April 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 578
 
1,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xda23

Hey if U delete superuser.apk can I just re add superuser.apk to reroot my device. Thanks

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

No because once you unroot you will no longer be able to write to that folder.
The Following User Says Thank You to ingenious247 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th April 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #9  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 3,109
 
5,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
error post
Last edited by Misterjunky; 30th April 2014 at 12:44 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterjunky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #10  
xda23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
What does tmobile inspect,check your phone for when trading one in. Thanks

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes